Wearing Jerseys Pick-Up

I Am Score*

So I might sound like a total noob and a duster here but I don't really care. To be honest with you guys, my skating is decent and my shooting is not great. I'm working on my shooting and getting better but i'm not a bender or anything. I've been playing for several years recreational but i'm not crap..

So I'm wondering what jerseys are appropriate to wear during pick-up games. I know it's not a good idea to wear a current player such as Stamkos or Ovechkin as you make yourself look like a total fool.

The jerseys I currently have are:

White plain jersey
Black plain jersey
Capitals Practice Jersey Red
Wayne Gretzky Team Canada Jersey

So far i've always used my white or black ones. The Wayne Gretzky Canada one I have is pretty darn rare and i'm wondering if it's okay on using it on pick-up. It's collecting dust as i'm too afraid to take it out anywhere without being called a ***.

Thanks guys for your help

JoeCool16

Sep 9, 2011
Vancouver
Bring the white and black, because you never know if it'll be uneven, and it's good to be able to balance out the sides!

Wayne Gretzky Team Canada Jersey - People will definitely joke around with you if you wear a Gretzky jersey, and if it's rare and you don't want to wear it down, I'd skip on it.

That said, most people I know aren't going to take offense that you were in a Gretzky jersey... they'll probably just smirk every time you screw up a play and go "nice one, Grez," or "The great one, ladies and gentlemen!" Nothing malicious, though.

If you can take that, and laugh along with them, then it'll probably be a good conversation starter. It'll also give them something to call you, since they probably won't know your name and that way they can yell for a pass.

Last edited:

sanityplease

Jun 21, 2011
Yeah, bring the white & black.