Pro Style, Roller, or Carry Bags?

Jarick

Doing Nothing
Looking for some input here.

I've been using a backpack style bag for six years now and liked it, but I'm getting tired of having to play Tetris to get all my stuff in, especially when I just want to throw my gear in and go. So I'm thinking of getting a regular bag again.

I noticed that bags today have a different design than they used to. They used to be long duffel bags with tons of pockets and stuff, now it seems like they are going more to the pro style where it's just a big bag with a ton of room. I also see that the roller bags are less like suitcases and more like pro bags with wheels on one end, and are a lot lighter. Lastly, before they used to have shoulder straps and now it seems you just carry them in your hand.

What kind of bag do you prefer? Have you gone to a pro style bag and then missed the pockets? Or did you find that having the extra space made it really nice to pack up gear?

Also, do you like the roller bags or is that just a waste of money?

Double also, any recommendations for good bags that aren't a ton of money?

Goonzilla

Welcome to my house!
Feb 18, 2014
The rink ..too often
Got to be a carry bag for me. The gear isn't that heavy and when I see someone outside of a goalie wheeling their bag about the place, I got to admit I wonder how many push ups they are capable of doing.

Wilch

Unregistered User
Mar 29, 2010
Roller bag and I'm a skater.

My stuff gets in and out of it quickly and it's a lot easier to keep track of my gear. Lost a couple pieces of small gear, water bottles, change of clothes because the carry bags would just mix everything together. But if you don't have amnesia like I do, that isn't an issue.

Also prefer that over my old carry bag because it's easy to dry stuff in it. Saves a lot of space and just need to aim a fan at it and it dries up over night.

mattkaminski15

Feb 25, 2014
Chicago
If your bag has wheels you don't.

LOL.