Phoenix CXVI: Soft Deadlines (or ~ As Soon As Practicable)

Status
Not open for further replies.

DyerMaker66*

So you're basically saying that every NHL franchise should be cash-flush enough to essentially let its owners wipe their butts with Benjamins rather than get the maximum impact for the minimum expenditure? In what kind of Bizarro-world of business practices do you believe the NHL exists?

Hitting the cap-floor = "cash-flush enough to essentially let its owners wipe their butts with Benjamins"

I love your low-water mark.

No such thing as an "empty roster spot."

They are paying him and he is playing for another team. It is an empty roster spot using money that still needs to be filled with a player.

His place will be filled by someone,
either through promotion from the prospect pool or by trade or UFA signing
You mean they won't just dress 10 guys?!?!

That's the problem? He's going to be replaced and they're going to have him on the books still.

The bottom line is that Vermette's value for the Coyotes was at a low point - not just because of his low point total, but because of how his style of play had degraded to the point where he was more of a liability than an asset on the ice.
You'd have to have watched him play to understand this, of course, but the love affair HF seems to have with Vermette is with the version of him from several years ago, not the current iteration.

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Only the highly attuned Coyotes fan can really tell you how Vermette plays. ;)

Well, Domi and Duclair didn't do too badly eclipsing Vermette last season,
That usually happens when you play more games. You might be surprised to hear they scored more points than me last year, too.

What players?
Take your pick.
http://www.spotrac.com/nhl/free-agents/