Proposal: WARNING: Re Slava Voynov

Status
Not open for further replies.

DominicT

Sep 6, 2009
Stratford Ontario
dom.hockey
We all know the situation by now.

I just want to get a feel on where Bruins fans stand on the possibility.

Should the LA Kings bow under pressure and terminate Voynov's contract a la Mike Richards, and the NHL reinstate him when his 90 day jail sentence ends (in time for training camp) Should the Bruins offer him a contract?

LSCII

Cup driven
Mar 1, 2002
Central MA
Don't care what LA does, but I certainly don't want that guy on the Bruins. I couldn't root for him ever, and I'd be disgusted by the front office if they did bring him in...

Gargyn

Oct 19, 2006
Kelowna, BC
Easy yes. I'm a police officer and have investigated thousands of domestic violence cases. Often people make mistakes and need help to correct their behaviour. As frustrating the system can be, you have to trust in people that more often than not they will become better people after admitting a mistake. His wife is sticking by his side. I'm sure there is more to the story than you and I know. The media is horrible and write as much negative as possible omitting facts and creating fiction. Regardless of what is factual and what is real, voynov ****ed up. I hope he won't do it again. Maybe he will. I would give him a chance. Hell of a talent, just needs the help and the support. I think he would get that in Boston.

CashMash

Jun 5, 2015
Finland
No. Didn't he beat his wife bloody?

Also, chances of domestic abuse recurring if she stays are usually high.

TP

Global Moderator
Dec 2, 2008
I gave it some thought, then looked at his situation again.

"one felony count of corporal injury to a spouse with great bodily injury"

and decided against it.

Oates2Neely

Jan 19, 2010
Massachusetts
Yes. I'm a hockey fan. The kid can play hockey. Who am I to judge him personally? If the Law says he's a free man & has paid his dues for his crime, then I'm ok with him on the Bruins blue line.