GDT: Ken Holland Press Conference (Dave Tippett officially named head coach - 11am MT - May 28, 2019)

AddyTheWrath

Mar 24, 2015
Toronto
Dave says he has relationships with all three current Oilers assistants - wants to talk to them before making any coaching decisions.

Sounds like there is potential for some of them to stay.

Messrules11

6 Cups, elbows up.
Nov 23, 2018
7B2BB583-E9F9-417D-9043-E44A424786B6.gif

Welcome aboard Tippett!

booyakasha

Oct 11, 2007
Edmonton, AB
Tippett laughs at comments saying he is a defensive coach, says in fact he was hired to be the head coach of Dallas because he was a good offensive coach.

Looks like posters are accurate when they say he coaches based on the team he has in front of him.
"I'm not an offensive coach,I'm not a defensive coach, I'm a coach that tries to find a way to win..."

Last edited:

Todd from Leduc

Connor “The Next Great One” McDavid
Nov 15, 2017
Leduc
Ok I changed my mind on Tippet, Boys this team is being set up to win multiple cups. He adjusts his style to match the talent he has. Hoping Connor/Leon can smash through their previous point ceiling.

Reactions: Phaneufed

Canovin

1% is the new 11.5%
Oct 27, 2010
Holland pretty much admitted that going with a rookie coach in Blashill was a mistake.

Really liked what I heard from Tippet

Reactions: KYams17

PuckNut

Oct 31, 2005
Edmonton
Dave says he has relationships with all three current Oilers assistants - wants to talk to them before making any coaching decisions.

Sounds like there is potential for some of them to stay.

I thought it sounded more like “I’m going to replace them but need to tell them first.”

guymez

The Seldom Seen Kid
Mar 3, 2004
Tippett laughs at comments saying he is a defensive coach, says in fact he was hired to be the head coach of Dallas because he was a good offensive coach.

Looks like posters are accurate when they say he coaches based on the team he has in front of him.