Have players stopped wearing mouth guards?

dkhockey

May 27, 2007
Europe
I see so many players without mouth guards, some got lots of teeth left, but many more are missing lots ! What about Pat Kane for instance, used to chew on his guard 24/7... he no longer has one? have many players stopped using mouth guards?

jetsforever

Dec 14, 2013
I'm pretty sure last time I watched Matt Tkachuk, he was chewing on it while playing. Pretty sure that defeats the purpose :laugh:

Reactions: dkhockey

TaLoN

Red 5 standing by
Sponsor
May 30, 2010
Farmington, MN
Some payers have never worn them, most do, but take them out immediately at the whistle... many have them but only chew on them , not really wearing them.

Oddbob

Jan 21, 2016
Pretty sure they have to wear mouth guards, which is why many don't wear them, they don't want to wear them, they likely have to.

hotcabbagesoup

why u guys want Celebrini, he played like a weenie
Feb 18, 2009
Reno, Nevada
Personal Question:

I'm a novice player here, been playing for 3 months. Been wearing a mouth guard but it's difficult to breathe.
Weird question but how do you breathe with it?
Do I breathe just with my mouth? Breath just with my nose?

Leafidelity

Best Sport/Worst League
Apr 6, 2008
Downtown Canada
Anyone who didn't grow up with them knows how hard they can be to adapt. I remember when they first became mandatory in minor hockey, everyone was gasping for air, because they really do reduce your intake.

Erz8771

Aug 2, 2007
T.Bay
Personal Question:

I'm a novice player here, been playing for 3 months. Been wearing a mouth guard but it's difficult to breathe.
Weird question but how do you breathe with it?
Do I breathe just with my mouth? Breath just with my nose?

Keep your mouth closed and breath out of your nose while youre on the ice.

ManWithNoName

Unregistered User
Jul 9, 2017
Gothenburg, Sweden