What grind/hollow do you have?

TheRedShadow

May 1, 2013
And what level of hockey and position?

I'm an older noob hockey player (tend towards defence) and have been using a 5/8 grind, but may switch down to 1/2 to give me a bit more bite round the curves.

What grind/hollow do you use?

Edited to add: I'm 6'2" 200lbs - looking forward to trying my skates with a bit more edge tomorrow

Last edited:

Summer Rose

Red Like Roses
Sponsor
May 3, 2012
Gainesville, Florida
When I first started playing I had no idea and I think they were giving me a 1/2" grind. I switched to 7/8" once I figured things out. When I got older and gained weight I went to 1", but lately I went down to 3/4" since I started officiating. That's what I'm currently on.

I use 3/8" for my goal skates.

This is for adult league and officiating. I'm nearly 27, 6'1" and weigh 170. I mostly play defenseman.

don28

Postal Gunslinger
Dec 31, 2009
Lebanon, TN
44 years old, 5'9", 205 lbs. (in shape; I lift weights and do stretching exercises; I have legs like Martin St. Louis). I use a 7/16"; it's a good combination of having edges without compromising too much speed for me. I play defense in the C league and forward in the B league.

sanityplease

Jun 21, 2011
Play B/C league, go out to practices/shinny ice time with an industrial (A) level team.

35yrs, 5'-11", 208, in shape.

5/8" w/ 50/35 cag profile. Tonnes of glide, sharp turning & good toe for acceleration.

Winger.

Last edited:

Primary Assist

The taste of honey is worse than none at all
Jul 7, 2010
Don't goalies usually have shallow hollows?

That used to be the case, but now that goaltending is so dependent on the butterfly slide and backleg recoveries having a deeper hollow really helps. Back when goalies would stay on their feet more is was better to have a shallow hollow to help with shuffling.

As a goalie I use a half inch myself. It's nothing too crazy, but it gets the job done.

Jul 31, 2005
CA