WBS Penguins sign Ty Loney

td_ice

Peter shows the way
Aug 13, 2005
USA
I remember seeing him as a freshmen when I would watch Denver games (spying BB) and I remember him having a great motor. Good grit and hustle. Great work ethic.

Last edited:

ColePens

RIP Fugu Buffaloed & parabola
Mar 27, 2008
Pittsburgh
My initial reaction is negative. The kid could have earned a spot, but all my mind thinks of real quick is yet another Penguin alumni that the organization has to look out for. Band of brothers. That's how broken this organization has made my mind. Every reaction is a negative one.

billybudd

Feb 1, 2012
My initial reaction is negative. The kid could have earned a spot, but all my mind thinks of real quick is yet another Penguin alumni that the organization has to look out for. Band of brothers. That's how broken this organization has made my mind. Every reaction is a negative one.

I have no knowledge of this player, but yeah, my gut reaction is this is that Samuelsson/Bathgate/Meloche/Malone legacy crap (though Malone did work out and Samuelsson's at least a serviceable call-up type). Descriptions from those who have seen him are at least positive.

puck swami

Apr 29, 2004
He put up 4 points in his 5 AHL games at Norfolk at the end of last year, so we know he can compete at the AHL level. He's got a good attitude and is a team guy.

As for the NHL, he has the size, hands and pedigree for the next level, but needs to get faster and work on his d-zone coverages to make the next step, IMHO. Gambling a minor league contract seems like a small price to pay. For an undrafted player, he's come a long way already.

wej20

Aug 14, 2008
UK

His numbers are decent, he has good size and he did well in his brief stint with the Admirals. I'm sure the connections don't hurt but I can't see how he's not worth an AHL contract (if he has a solid year he could earn himself an NHL contract). He had more consistent numbers in college than Carter Rowney did.