Should the NHL permit tax gross ups in the cap to level the playing field across jurisdictions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

saffronleaf

May 17, 2011
Toronto, ON
Players demand more money to play in high tax jurisdictions because their take home pay is lower.

Should the NHL try to level the playing field?

Tax gross ups can be complex and I'm not a tax lawyer but, at a general level, it would work as follows:

- The NHL identifies the lowest tax jurisdiction in the NHL (presumably a place like Tampa?)

- Teams in higher tax jurisdictions would be able to offer players an extra amount in salary. That extra amount would be capped at the amount that would need to be paid to the player to ensure that such player receives the same take home pay as they would have if they played in the lowest tax jurisdiction.

- The extra amount is the "tax gross up" and it would not be counted toward the cap hit of the team offering the tax gross up.

Thoughts?

LT

Global Moderator
Jul 23, 2010
For god's sake, how many times are we going to have this argument?

No no no no no, it doesn't make sense. I feel like I need to post this every time:

I feel like I should post this every time the tax argument comes up:

"People realize income tax is not the only kind of tax, right? If you adjust the salary cap per team for income tax, why not property tax as well? Or sales tax? Or just generic cost-of-living?

What about the endorsement potential for major cities or more famous franchises? Where’s the adjustment there?

These things are far more complex than being portrayed here. There are plenty of pro’s and con’s to most every franchise. Some franchises may lean toward one direction, but that’s the nature of business when it’s spread across nearly the entirety of two countries.