Remembering the Plymouth Whalers and Belleville Bulls -- Final Games

Whalers Fan

Go Habs!
Sep 24, 2012
Plymouth, MI
This article was written by local reporter Tim Smith about the Whalers final home game. Tim's a very nice guy - he interviewed my wife and me at the game on Martin Luther King Day for an article on fan reaction about the team leaving.

I am an amateur photographer. While I do not shoot sports much, I would occasionally bring a camera to the Whalers games. I did this for the final game, and captured a few memories. You can see the photos here.

SeniorJuniorFan

Dec 13, 2013
Great article and photos. Kudos to the fans and teams for the excellent way in which this was handled.

Contrast this with 2002 when North Bay lost the Centennials. There was a 2 way tie for last playoff spot East, so Kingston came here for a single game elimination. This potential last game ever drew about 2,700 in a resounding win (7-2?, maybe). On to the playoffs where the Toronto St. Michael's Majors swept North Bay. For the 4th game of the series, and obviously last game ever, the turnout dropped back to the by then normal level of about 2,200. As was, and still is, tradition, the 50-50 draw at the 10 minute mark of the 3rd triggered an exodus. By the time the game ended, there might have been 1700 in the stands. After a rather tepid salute by the remaining fans at game's end, it was over.

Speaking of relocations, nice to see Costa Papista still prominent as the point man for Flint. This legend was the architect of the sale, as team President, when the Centennials were "spirited" out of North Bay.

Whalers Fan

Go Habs!
Sep 24, 2012
Plymouth, MI
Thanks for making this a sticky.

USA Hockey has completed the purchase of Compuware Arena. The arena will be renamed USA Hockey Arena. Per the article, the arena will still be home to the Compuware Youth Hockey Program. There was no mention whether Catholic Central will continue to play its home games there, though.