Am I ridiculous?

Greeneye

May 17, 2006
Golden, CO
Just thought I'd pose this question to you guys. I just turned 30 and I've been playing hockey in various forms since I was 15. I just started playing again for the first time in 3 years (roughly). I always used to be one of the best guys in my leagues (B Level) and now I'm not. My skating has turned to **** for some reason. I have issues stopping, can't remember my technique. My question is, am I crazy for wanting to take skating lessons?

vwg*

Nov 16, 2005
Krasnoyarsk
no, not at all. If you wanna relearn how to skate well again, go for it. Nothing ridiculous about it.

bleedgreen

Dec 8, 2003
colorado
Visit site
one or two good hours with someone who knows what they're talking about could make you not only remember what to do, it could make you better than you were in time. of course, lessons only work if you practice on your own as well.

NJDevs430

Jun 9, 2002
Visit site
Skating is as easy as like riding a log...er...falling off a bike...er...well heck - it ain't easy. It is quite counter-intuitive. If I miss a week or two of practice, I have to gain my confidence back before I feel right.
Did you take lessons when you first started skating or were you "self-taught"?
Like STAALed said, if you want to take lessons to improve your skating - go for it! Who's gonna stop ya?

}:)>

Ti-girl

Jan 29, 2005
Merida, Mexico
No, not at all.

I go to powerskating all the time and I've been skating since I was 4, including proper skating lessons.

Just go, be a sponge and have fun!

Murphy

Apr 2, 2005
Edmonton
I say go for it, I don't think it will take much to get your skating back.

I'm in a similiar predicament. I started playing in a pretty competitive rec league 2 years ago after a 7 year layoff and quickly found out I'm not the player I used to be either. I didn't so much lose my skating tecnique but I lost my speed, stamina, hands, periphial vision, shot, ect, ect....