OT: What do you do for work and/or school?

SnowblindNYR

HFBoards Sponsor
Sponsor
Nov 16, 2011
Brooklyn, NY
One thing I noticed about this board is that it's relatively young compared to other boards I've been too. But it's actually very well versed in stats/analytics. More so than any other board I've been to. I was wondering what you guys either did for a living or were going to school for. I've tried to be sort of private on this board, I wouldn't want a Lundqvist loving employer finding out about my meltdowns. :sarcasm:
Despite that I'll start:

I just recently got an MBA at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh and am now looking for a full time job in Marketing or Marketing Research. I'm interested in Tech, but we'll see how it goes.

SnowblindNYR

HFBoards Sponsor
Sponsor
Nov 16, 2011
Brooklyn, NY
I have a masters degree from Fordham Graduate School of Business and I work as a CPA for an investment bank in New York.

Interesting is masters degree an accounting degree or an MBA? If it's the latter do you feel like that's a valuable degree for accounting? Usually I feel like MBAs don't go the accounting route. I did go to school with one girl who was like the youngest in the class and was doing her MBA AND taking CPA exams.

Hobgoblin Steve

Bacon of Light
Feb 5, 2009
Bay Ridge
Went to school for Mechanical Engineering, and took another degree for Industrial Design. Went on to be a M.E for MakerBot Industries working on the MB2/2x/5th gen systems

Currently working for a SaaS system as a Product Manager. Nowhere near as cool, but it made sense for my career.

Doctor King Schultz

Garian Maborik
May 3, 2012
NYC
Interesting is masters degree an accounting degree or an MBA? If it's the latter do you feel like that's a valuable degree for accounting? Usually I feel like MBAs don't go the accounting route. I did go to school with one girl who was like the youngest in the class and was doing her MBA AND taking CPA exams.