What Did You Expect from Lidstrom / Datsyuk / Z / Kronwall in Their 1st Seasons?

snailderby

Jul 10, 2010
I'm a relative newbie to hockey, compared to many of you. I don't remember when Lidstrom, Datsyuk, Zetterberg, Kronwall entered the league. Would any of you old-timers be willing to share your memories of when players (or other secondary players like Filppula and Franzen) first entered the league?

1. What were your expectations for these players in their first season?

2. Did they have growing pains when they first entered the league? Were there certain flaws in their play? Were there concerns about their defense, their skating, or anything else?

3. At what point did you realize they were going to be something special?

Thanks in advance.

InjuredChoker

Dec 25, 2011
LTIR or golf course
can't say for lidström.

but for kronwall

didn't really have any. saw him play at WCs the year prior he got his cup of coffe in NHL. was good but not great. after the lockout he really broke out.

2. Did they have growing pains when they first entered the league? Were there certain flaws in their play? Were there concerns about their defense, their skating, or anything else?

sure, kronwall had his brainfarts defensively. skating was fine and seemed injury prone earlier on. good thing he proved not to be.

not sure about special but around 06-07. played well in international comps and kept improving in NHL, though he had his ups and downs.

for zetterberg

high. knew him from international comps and friend of mine praised him a lot. zetterberg delivered immediately.

maybe skating and size but that's about it. he played very good defense from the beginning and was pretty complete player.

the year before he made the NHL/his rookie season.

datsyuk

didn't really have any, didn't know much about him.