TV Coverage of the World Cup in Europe

Discussion in 'International Tournaments' started by Jazz, Aug 9, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jazz

    Jazz Registered User

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Home Page:
    TV Coverage of the World Cup

    I was wondering if anyone can post the different channels in different European countries that the World Cup will be available on.

    Thanks in advance.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2004
  2. Spezza

    Spezza Registered User

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,647
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    141
    Location:
    Ottawa <-> Scotland
    In the UK, NASN will be covering the tournament. Nearly all the games are live.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2004
  3. Padawan

    Padawan Former power tripper

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    2,613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Sales person
    Location:
    Jyvaskyla, Finland
    Home Page:
    In Finland channel 4 (called Nelonen) is going to air atleast the Team Finland matches.
     
  4. gib

    gib Registered User

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    74
    Occupation:
    student
    What I have read is that channel 4 is going to air all the games played in Europe live. All NA games will also be aired, not live but in the next morning after the game. I just can`t remember where did I get that information.
     
  5. palsoft

    palsoft Registered User

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Bratislava
    Home Page:
    In Slovakia there's STV2 with almost every match
     
  6. Jussi

    Jussi Registered User

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    66,482
    Likes Received:
    2,157
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The List Of Jericho
    I read somewhere that they'd air all the games live. :dunno:
     
  7. Kronblom

    Kronblom Registered User

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Stockholm
  8. Leo Naphta

    Leo Naphta Registered User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    968
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On top of the World
  9. Jussi

    Jussi Registered User

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    66,482
    Likes Received:
    2,157
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The List Of Jericho
    This week's issue of Veikkaaja magazine confirmed it: all games live on Nelonen. :yo:
     
  10. Kronblom

    Kronblom Registered User

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Stockholm
  11. Bumjoo Wang*

    Bumjoo Wang* Guest

  12. Jazz

    Jazz Registered User

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Home Page:
    Hey guys!

    Thanks for all the replies so far.. :handclap:

    Part II is that I was also trying to figure out how accessable the games are overall?
    Is the broadcast channel in question for your country available to most of the population? :confused:
     
  13. psycho_dad*

    psycho_dad* Registered User

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saint John, N.B
    Home Page:
    Nelonen (channel 4) is accessible for maybe 95% of Finland I'd say.
     
  14. Hackett

    Hackett BAKAMAN

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    21,545
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Home Page:
    lol, conan rules :handclap:
     
  15. palsoft

    palsoft Registered User

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Bratislava
    Home Page:
    STV2 in Slovakia is national television with coverage for almost whole SVK.

    To the pre-game with Swedes - i'm going there :banana:
     
  16. Jazz

    Jazz Registered User

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Home Page:
    Here is what I have complied so far:

    CANADA
    http://wch2004.com/news/cbc_rights.html


    USA
    http://wch2004.com/espn_coverage.html


    SLOVAKIA and a little about CZECH REPUBLIC
    http://www.stv.sk/sprava.php?id=1862


    GERMANY Team Germany's game and the final match you can watch on Premiere (Pay-TV)*. Further informations here: http://www.premiere.de/content/Programm_Sport_NHL_Start.jsp
    *This channel might be available in Austria and Switzerland


    ENGLAND (and anywhere else that gets NASN): http://www.nasn.com/Content/NASN/CMS.nsf/content/2004_Hockey_WC


    SWEDEN - Viasat Sport 1
    http://www.sport.viasat.se/index.phtml?page_type=document&document=45184


    FINLAND - Nelonen (Channel Four)


    FRANCE Sport +


    ITALY Sky Sport 1 (pay tv channel) will broadcast all the games (some live and some tape delayed)

    If anyone has any more information, or any corrections, let us know.
     
  17. Bumjoo Wang*

    Bumjoo Wang* Guest

    I think, that the Viasatsport also broadcasts in Scandinavia and Baltics!!
     
  18. 12# Peter Bondra

    12# Peter Bondra Registered User

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    8,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    STV 2 is showing ALL games LIVE form the WC. Their available to over 96 % of the country (and into other countires like CZ and Austria too, but only on the parts boarding with Slovakia).

    To Palsfot: Miklanek bude robit studia v STV. Hroza.
     
  19. wilka91*

    wilka91* Registered User

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4,251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I really hope Nova will show all the games in the Czech republic ... my VCR is ready to go!
     
  20. 12# Peter Bondra

    12# Peter Bondra Registered User

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    8,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nova ( from what I heard) isnt showing all the games but they will show only the CZE games. But thats what I only heard. It may not be true.
     
  21. palsoft

    palsoft Registered User

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Bratislava
    Home Page:
    To #12 Peter Bondra: coze? tak to bude peklo :) tie jeho hlasky niektore su fakt cool..
     
  22. 12# Peter Bondra

    12# Peter Bondra Registered User

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    8,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ako napriklad cez MS: Miklanek: "Ideme sa rozpravat s Richardom Pavlikovskym" a potom pride Orszagh a opravi ho ze to bol Rastislav. :lol
    To ked on bude robit studia = :shakehead
     
  23. wilka91*

    wilka91* Registered User

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4,251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually I found everything at www.svetovypohar.cz

    They're going to show Czech Republic's 3 round robin games, 5 games from the North American group (including CAN vs RUS, RUS vs USA, CAN vs USA), and all the playoff games! And every day they're will be a short show with the highlights. :handclap:

    I'm just pissed off I won't see Slovakia vs. Russia and Finland vs. Sweden. :banghead:
     
  24. 12# Peter Bondra

    12# Peter Bondra Registered User

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    8,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    STV2 will show the Slovakian games (and all the games) and Im pretty sure you can catch it in a big part of the CZE. Where are you staying though? If in prague then you maybe wont catch STV2 but try it.
     
  25. Jazz

    Jazz Registered User

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Home Page:
    Mon, Aug 30 Hartwall Arena, Helsinki Czech Republic vs. Finland
    1:00 PM EDT = 10:00 AM PDT = 7:00 PM CET = 8:00PM local time ESPN, CBC

    Tue, Aug 31 Globe Arena, Stockholm Germany vs. Sweden
    1:00 PM EDT = 10:00 AM PDT = 7:00 PM CET ESPN, CBC

    Tue, Aug 31 Bell Centre, Montreal Canada vs. United States
    7:00 PM EDT = 4:00 PM PDT = 1:00 AM CET ESPN2, CBC

    Wed, Sep 1 Globe Arena, Stockholm Czech Republic vs. Sweden
    1:00 PM EDT = 10:00 AM PDT = 7:00 PM CET ESPN, CBC

    Wed, Sep 1 Bell Centre, Montreal Canada vs. Slovakia
    7:00 PM EDT = 4:00 PM PDT = 1:00 AM CET ESPN2, CBC

    Thu, Sep 2 Cologne Arena, Cologne Germany vs. Finland
    1:30 PM EDT = 10:30 AM PDT = 7:30 PM CET ESPN2, CBC

    Thu, Sep 2 Xcel Energy Center, St. Paul United States vs. Russia
    7:00 PM EDT = 4:00 PM PDT = 1:00 AM CET ESPN2, CBC

    Fri, Sep 3 Sazka Arena, Prague Czech Republic vs. Germany
    1:00 PM EDT = 10:00 AM PDT = 7:00 PM CET ESPN, CBC

    Fri, Sep 3 Xcel Energy Center, St. Paul Slovakia vs. United States
    7:00 PM EDT = 4:00 PM PDT = 1:00 AM CET ESPN2, CBC

    Sat, Sep 4 Hartwall Arena, Helsinki Sweden vs. Finland
    2:00 PM EDT = 11:00 AM PDT = 7:00 PM CET = 8:00PM local time CBC

    Sat, Sep 4 Air Canada Centre, Toronto Russia vs. Canada
    7:00 PM EDT = 4:00 PM PDT = 1:00 AM CET CBC

    Sun, Sep 5 Air Canada Centre, Toronto Slovakia vs. Russia
    7:00 PM EDT = 4:00 PM PDT = 1:00 AM CET ESPN2, CBC

    Mon., Sep. 6 QUARTERFINAL
    Home Arena of E1 - E1 vs. E4
    1:00 PM EDT = 10:00 AM PDT = 7:00 PM CET CBC

    Tues., Sep. 7 QUARTERFINAL
    Home Arena of E2 - E2 vs. E3
    1:00 PM EDT = 10:00 AM PDT = 7:00 PM CET ESPN, CBC

    Tues., Sep. 7 QUARTERFINAL
    Xcel Energy Center, St. Paul NA1 vs. NA4 or
    NA2 vs. NA3
    7:00 PM EDT = 4:00 PM PDT = 1:00 AM CET ESPN2, CBC

    Wed., Sep. 8 QUARTERFINAL
    Air Canada Centre, Toronto NA1 vs. NA4 or
    NA2 vs. NA3
    7:00 PM EDT = 4:00 PM PDT = 1:00 AM CET ESPN2, CBC

    Fri., Sep. 10 SEMIFINAL
    Xcel Energy Center, St. Paul
    7:00 PM EDT = 4:00 PM PDT = 1:00 AM CET ESPN2, CBC

    Sat., Sep. 11 SEMIFINAL
    Air Canada Centre, Toronto
    6:30 PM EDT = 3:30 PM PDT = 12:30 AM CET ESPN2, CBC

    Tues., Sept. 14 CHAMPIONSHIP
    Air Canada Centre, Toronto
    7:00 PM EDT = 4:00 PM PDT = 1:00 AM CET ESPN2, CBC

    ESPN & ESPN2 = USA Cable TV
    CBC = Canadian TV

    EDT = Eastern Daylight Time (East coast of USA + Ontario & Quebec in Canada)
    PDT = Pacific Daylight Time (West coast of Canada & USA)
    CET = Central European Time

    Note on Quaterfinals:
    1. If Finland is either E1 or E2, their home game will be at 8:00pm local time (CET+1)
    2. Team USA will play in their QF game in Minnesota, regardless of where it places in it's pool
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
monitoring_string = "358c248ada348a047a4b9bb27a146148"