Penalty on Off-Side?

Discussion in 'National Hockey League Talk' started by Garavar, Oct 16, 2018.

View Users: View Users
  1. Garavar

    Garavar Registered User

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Rule Question...

    Let's say Player makes a breakaway pass to his teammate, the breakaway pass is offside, player is about to shoot and defenseman hooks him. Penalty is called. Player scores.

    Team challenges offside and wins, would the penalty still apply?

    If no, what if the player didn't score, could the offside be challenged to negate the penalty?
     
  2. Filthy Dangles

    Filthy Dangles Registered User

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    11,796
    Likes Received:
    8,861
    Trophy Points:
    151
    If the player didn't score, the play would be non-reviewable thus the penalty would stand. You can only challenge offsides if a goal is scored.

    As for if the player did score and goal was negated by offside review, that's a good question. I wanna say the penalty would be negated but can't say for sure.
     
  3. ThirdManIn

    ThirdManIn Aspiring Sinecure

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    54,707
    Likes Received:
    3,047
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Occupation:
    Rippin' and runnin'
    Awards:
    Don't they reset the clock back to when the offside happened? Since the time is reset, there is not time for the penalty.

    For example: say the offside that is missed happens at 13:13, the hook happens at 13:12, and then the goal happens at 13:10. The play is challenged successfully, and the clock is reset to 13:13. The penalty can't stand since officially 13:12 hasn't happened yet.
     
  4. LeHab

    LeHab Registered User

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,635
    Likes Received:
    1,233
    Trophy Points:
    169
    From the rule book,

    http://www.nhl.com/nhl/en/v3/ext/rules/2018-2019-NHL-rulebook.pdf

    Answers all your questions.
     
    Suntouchable13 and Garavar like this.
  5. maacoshark

    maacoshark Registered User

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    5,307
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    Trophy Points:
    94
    A play something like this happened last year with the Caps. It wasnt an offside. It was a weird play.
    The Caps thought they scored a goal and started celebrating but the play kept going. The loose puck ended up going to Ovi and he takes a shot on net. The Caps think they scored again but the ref waived it off again then their opponent goes on an odd man rush. I think the team was the Sharks. Kuznetsov gets called for a hook on the back check. The regain possession and the whistle blows. They decide to review the earlier scoring chance to see if the Caps scored. It turned out they did in fact score. I assumed the click would go back to when the goal was scored and nothing after that would count. The goal counted, the clock when back but Kuznetsov still got the penalty even though it happened well after the goal and the time that the clock should have been stopped. I was a bit shocked. I understand the reasoning. What if a major infraction happed that caused an injury?
     
    gtrower likes this.
  6. maacoshark

    maacoshark Registered User

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    5,307
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    Trophy Points:
    94
  7. LeHab

    LeHab Registered User

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,635
    Likes Received:
    1,233
    Trophy Points:
    169
    The rule was also amended no too long ago (last season?) to assess a minor penalty for unsuccessful off-side challenges.
     

Share This Page

monitoring_string = "358c248ada348a047a4b9bb27a146148"