OT: Molson Senators Overtime

SLam

Jul 22, 2006
Ottawa
Helllo Sens fans!
I'm a journalism student, and I'm looking into applying for an internship with the local Rogers Channel in Ottawa for their Sens Overtime show. I'm not from the area, so I was hoping fans on here could tell me what they think of the show, and anything that you know. (i.e. Is it any good? Are there any particular segments that you particularly enjoy? What is the general structure of the show like?)

Thanks for your help guys!

Last edited:

Max Power

Nov 15, 2005
The show is mainly aimed at kids as the stories are trivial or women who want to know how their favorite senator lives. I've only watched it around 3 times though so I may not be the best to ask.

Indrew

Feb 6, 2007
It fills the time nicely when I'm early for a game at the Sc'ank. I can't say I go out of my way to watch it at home though. It's mostly a 'get to know the player' show.

pdog1979

Aug 20, 2007
Overtime is a good show, but it could use a hefty injection of 'cool'. It's a little hokey, a little too 'community' for my likes. The show has lots of potential and it seems like they have great access to the players.

It generally includes 3 interviews (1 current player, 1 prospect, 1 'out-of-towner'), a hockey skills segment, 'Ask the Sens', an 'ask the fans' bit and highlights mixed in.

Here are my thoughts on the show:

- I'd like to see a more in-depth weekly recap of Sens action and more complete highlights from the past week. I do enjoy the plays of the week segment at the end of the show, but overall the show could use more highlights.

- I'd also like to see a 'Notes From the Farm' segment that looks at the minor league team, as well as an update on how other prospects are doing at other levels - CHL, NCAA, Europe, etc.

- Now that we are 15 years out, a 'This Week in Sens History' segment would be fun and could include interviews with former players/coaches/management. Perhaps a 'Where are They Now' segment, too.