OT: Moving to Ottawa

kule41

Mar 26, 2008
Hey guys,

*If this thread is in the wrong area feel free to move it*

I will be moving to Ottawa by the end of this month until the end of the year. Never been to Ottawa before. I am going to be working (Co-op) near Parliament Hill, I am currently looking for a place. I am a young student so I was thinking of finding a place in Sandy Hill, but as you can imagine its hard to find a place especially since most students are subletting for only summer. I was wondering if anyone had recommendations on other areas to live or even areas to stay away from. I would also love suggestions on places to visit and places where I can meet new people:laugh:

Any help would be appreciated (ignore avatar and fav team :laugh:)

Micklebot

Apr 27, 2010
We try to keep all the leafs fans tucked away in a specific corner of vanier...

But seriously, you might consider just across the bridge in Gatineau. Taxes suck, but rent is usually cheaper. Do the math and see if it makes sense.

edit:

I should point out I lived in Vanier for about 2 year, two different appartments, and rent was good, I was walking distance from downtown (30 mins to Rideau center, probably about 40 mins to Parliment hill). You can find nice places in Vanier but you need to do your due diligence with checking out the neighbourhood and company you rent from.

jason2020

Sep 24, 2014
Hey guys,

*If this thread is in the wrong area feel free to move it*