LD Nikita Nesterov (2011, 148th, TBL)

Jacko95

Sep 19, 2012
Can some Russians give me/ Tampa fans a scouting report? The Bolts seem to be incredible high on him (#4 on their prospects list according to Future Watch), but his stats aren't very meaningful, so it would be nice to get some inside.
Is he the top pairing shutdown D prospect, the list makes him? He is above the likes of Koekkoek and Barberio and those are projected as second pairing Ds at minimum.

Retire91

Stevey Y you our Guy
May 31, 2010
I know he played in the WJC a few times. I am by no means a pro scout or even a casual scout. I kinda feel like the Tampa organization thinks they got a steal where they drafted him no matter where he cracks their lineup if he eventually does. I don't think he has a lot of offensive upside. I think he will be counted on to develop into a more defensive defensman. I am guessing he an Koekkoek will kinda be competing for the same role.

TampaBolt

Muck Fichigan!
Jun 8, 2012
Chicago, Illinois
He is projected as a #5-6 defenseman with some second pairing potential. He is an above average skater with puck moving skills that need a little work. While a little undersized, he is not afraid of contact. Decent shot. I saw him a lot while watching KHL streams during the lockout, since I followed Traktor because of Kuznetsov. I believe he is either hit or miss which ain't that bad for a 5th rounder. I am no scout but that's my take on him. Hope it helps.

Edit: I believe he is a tier under Koekkoek and in the same tier a Barb. I see him as a two-way D. Again take for what it's worth.

malkinfan

Aug 20, 2006
Canada
Has a very high ceiling. Yzerman said when they got him that he should have gone much higher.. I can tell you that he wont be ready for a few years. He makes bad decisions on a regular basis. Has skills though just needs the sand paper. Its good that he's seeing time for Traktor, there team is ridiculously loaded.

Fulcrum