Is Zach Hamill subject to waivers?

Status
Not open for further replies.

InvalidUsername

Sep 21, 2011
Zach Hamill has been a big surprise at Bruins camp. But with this being his 4th pro season (he's 23), is he waiver eligible? I don't know that there's room on the B's for him, and it would suck to lose him just when he finally starts putting it together.

InvalidUsername

Sep 21, 2011
He's on the last year of his ELC which is 2-way. So he doesn't need to go through waivers

The thing is, Hamill is a 4th year pro. Normally that'd be waiver eligible. But ELC's are usually only 2 or 3 years. So there's some loophole at work here that's made his ELC four years and I'm wondering if that loophole also affects his waiver eligibility.

TheBradyBunch

Dec 17, 2008
I'm no expert but I think he is waiver exempt.
If not, he has a decent chance of getting claimed I'd say.

Last edited:

Sverra

Plumper
Dec 2, 2010
One way and two way contracts have nothing to do with waiver eligibility, even though EA Sports would like you to believe they do.
:D:handclap:

The thing is, Hamill is a 4th year pro. Normally that'd be waiver eligible. But ELC's are usually only 2 or 3 years. So there's some loophole at work here that's made his ELC four years and I'm wondering if that loophole also affects his waiver eligibility.

I am 99% sure he isn't waiver eigeble, because his ELC slided until season 2009-10. The slide is based on NHL games, not professional games (in this case AHL).

Last edited:

bruinsfan46

Dec 2, 2006
London, ON
He is waiver exempt for one more year, I recommend reading the following link for waiver rules: http://thehockeywriters.com/nhl-waiver-rules/

WAIVEelig.jpg