Great players held back by mediocre teams or systems.

Nordic*

Oct 12, 2006
Tellus
Looking at the absolute trainwreck that is Arizona, I wonder what OEL would be capable of on even a mid-ranged team in the NHL.

Same with Duchene & Tavares.

What do you think they could achieve in terms of personal stats and/or awards?

Other players who would benefit a lot from being traded?

Nordic*

Oct 12, 2006
Tellus
So is this just a "name the star players on bad teams" thread

Not really. Some star players still have good linemates on their mediocre teams - and perform good.

Eichel, Laine and Ehlers for instance.

Blainer114*

Maverick
Jun 8, 2016
Toronto
Hall, eberle, rnh, yakupov etc oilers
Eichel sabres
Duchene, mackinnon avs
Huberdeau panthers
Tavares isles
Schenn leafs

pheasant

Nov 2, 2010
Karlsson.

Ovi from 2011-12 to 2013-14.

I am not an expert, by any means. But from everything I see in Ottawa, the entire team and system seem to be tailor made to get the most and best out of Karlsson. I don`t think anything abut Ottawa is holding him back.

WhiskeyYerTheDevils

yer leadin me astray
Sponsor
Apr 27, 2005
Still flogging the Gaudreau horse eh Whiskey?

What say you on Johnny's point pace and + / - for the year?

The whole team took 15-20 games to adjust to the new coach / system.

He's also riding an unsustainably low PDO and on ice sh%. And being stuck with Alex Chiasson for 90% of the season doesn't help, nor does breaking his finger.

Despite all that, he's still got 18 points in his last 21 games. But he's due for some serious upward regression.

rumrokh

THORBS
Mar 10, 2006
There are also players who are not actually great, but because they're the best players on their bad teams, they're perceived to be better than they are for various reasons.

Not only do truly great players elevate those around them, people also like to imagine scenarios that never really work in reality. Crosby's Perfect Winger or Rick Nash's Perfect Center are memorable fantasies.