G Eric Hartzell (2007 undrafted, Pittsburgh)

Jaykay

Jul 5, 2012
Minneapolis, MN
He's been the starter for Quinnipiac the past three years and he's been outstanding. As a sophomore he was 12-6-5 (2.22 GAA .927 SV%) as a junior he went 12-11-6 (2.20 GAA, .913 SV%) and this year as a senior he's been completely dominant going 16-2-2 (1.48 GAA .934 SV%). He's 6'4 190 so he's got plenty of size; I'd have to think he'll get a shot with someone when he graduates. Anyone have an opinion of this kid?

Last edited:

SLAPSHOT723

QU! Bobcats!
Jan 14, 2008
Long Island/NYC
www.nhl.com
Bump.

I go to Quinnipiac, and I have nothing but incredible things to say about Eric Hartzell. He's been the reason (along with Jeremy Langlois) that Quinnipiac is now ranked 5th in the nation.

Hartzell uses his size as well as any goalie that's 6'4" 190lbs. This video here shows how his size is probably his best asset.

I think he has 1B NHL potential.

Shesty31

Jul 10, 2011
Connecticut
I graduated from QU just this past summer, and I was wondering what peoples thoughts were on him as well. I unfortunately never got to attend many QU games(I will be attending the QU/Yale game this year though!), but given his stats, I really hope he gets at least an invite to an NHL camp next season. As the poster above me said, he has great size and uses it to his advantage.

bassassin

Apr 1, 2008
England
Not to derail the thread but given you guys watch Quinnipiac a lot, whats happened with Peca this year versus last?

SLAPSHOT723

QU! Bobcats!
Jan 14, 2008
Long Island/NYC
www.nhl.com
Not to derail the thread but given you guys watch Quinnipiac a lot, whats happened with Peca this year versus last?

Sophomore slump. He had a horrible start but then again so did the team. He had probably the prettiest goal that the Bobcats scored this year. On the road against RPI he a 5-on-3 shorthanded goal.