Speculation: Dreger: Babs interested in other jobs?

dtones520

Jun 10, 2008
Midland, MI
Hard to fire the coach with the team making the playoffs, especially when the coach is as highly respected league wide as Babcock. It's clear as day this team has got progressively worse since 08 and it isn't the fault of the guy behind the bench

Winning/good coaches have been fired plenty of times when they don't buy into the GMs program.

cupforwings09

Mar 30, 2010
Michigan
Thought he used to live in Novi, but that is even closer.

I feel like we probably went to the same school... haha.

Babcock may have thought about it at some point. He was getting the same team and didn't really have a challenge. But now I think he is embracing the young kids. He wants to coach, and when have teams that he has had, I don't think it is that big a of challenge (from a professional coach perspective).

Adityase

Mar 27, 2002
Troy, MI
Visit site
As a Michigan grad, I would love for Babs to take over for Red. He started at McGill University so he clearly loves the college game and understands it. It would be great for the Wolverines to have a Cup winning coach. And though I think Babs is severely underrated here (yes, I know people aren't saying his history isn't good they're saying he's been too inflexible lately), I think people ignore the fact that people in charge are more prone to try to maintain the status quo than outsiders who don't have a job at stake. The bottom line is he's adapted (because he's had to, yes), but he's done it. We have a productive 3rd line of all rookies. He's loved a rookie D-man (that most of us haven't) and another one (that we have). He's keeping Sammy sidelined in favor of a hot team with a lot of youth. He was forced to do it, but he's doing it. And yeah, he's had the toughest job as the Wings coach of any season he's been here and we might make the playoffs... and do some damage based on our recent play.