Cunningham's Law: First Round Mock

HarvHQC

Aug 12, 2020
The best way to get the right answer on the Internet is not to ask a question, it's to post the wrong answer.
...which means that, after using extremely rudimentary Excel voodoo to aggregate some decently-recent prospect rankings from Dobber, The Hockey News, Corey Pronman, Scott Wheeler, Last Word, The Draft Analyst, DraftPro, Bob McKenzie, and Josh Bell, Larry Fisher, and Andrew Forbes from The Hockey Writers, I need to get all of the wrong conclusions out of my own head so that I can receive the right conclusions from all of you.

I'm brand new to following the NHL Draft, and I've only been watching hockey with any seriousness for the past two seasons after joining a workplace fantasy league. (Hence the inclusion of Dobber!) But I am a converted NFL Draft aficionado, a burned-out former sportswriter from Bleacher Report's humble beginnings as a shameless content farm, and an English teacher with a few free vacation days left to put the finishing touches on what I'm sure is a travesty of a still-too-soon mock draft...

Using system rankings from Dobber and Pronman (including his newest evaluations, where possible) and reading the team-specific forums here, I tried to get a feel for teams' needs. I also wanted to better understand how active GMs had used their first round picks over the past few years -- and how much movement does or doesn't happen in a typical first round -- so I charted how often they had dealt their first-rounders going back to 2015. As a result, I did cautiously project a few trades.

If I completely botched your team's pick and/or several others, let me have it! (If I mangled one or more positional designations, direct all complaints to Central Scouting.)

1. N.Y. Rangers - LW Alexis Lafreniere [The face on future trading card boxes?]
2. Los Angeles - C Quinton Byfield [The center-rich get center-richer.]