Crazy talk time: Pettersson and Miller fluently swap positions

Chimpradamus

Feb 16, 2006
Northern Sweden
Call me crazy, bored or both, but if I was a Canucks coach, I would actually start thinking about mixing Pettersson and Miller in their positions at even strength. Sometimes Miller is the center, sometimes Pettersson is. The problem with Pettersson taking such defensive responsibility is you never see him on oddman rushes and breakaways, to take advantage of his great skating and speed. If he could sometimes play wing and Miller being center, that could happen much more frequently. Miller is no slouch defensively either, so... giving Pettersson more shooting opportunities in a game is a good thing, right? His shot is goddamn divine, why not try to increase the ammunition?

Miller's and Pettersson's chemistry could be used as a coaching strategy. They could even switch roles in the middle of a shift if they're up for it and can communicate. They've both played winger and center. The dynamics of the entire line would change with the position swap. More offensive or more defensive? Solid or really in need of a goal? Need of a goal? Play Pettersson at wing and let him try to cherry pick if he can.

He's the guy you want in a breakaway or oddman rush, among a very small group of players in the NHL if you need a goal.
In all of these regular discussions; how about discussing something basically unheard of? Call me crazy, bored or both, but if I was a Canucks coach, I would actually start thinking about mixing Pettersson and Miller in their positions at even strength.

Sometimes Miller is the center, sometimes Pettersson is. The problem with Pettersson taking such defensive responsibility is you never see him on oddman rushes and breakaways anymore, to take advantage of his great skating and speed. And his shot. And his passing. And... you get the idea.