Career Point Leaders

Discussion in 'The History of Hockey' started by RabbinsDuck, Aug 19, 2011.

  1. RabbinsDuck

    RabbinsDuck Registered User

    Feb 1, 2008
    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:
    Brighton, MI
    I knew Syd Howe was a career point leader at one point, but I was curious who else was before Gordie Howe and Gretzky took it over.

    1929: Cy Denneny retires with 333 pts
    1932: Howie Morenz breaks that mark and goes on to retire in 1937 with 472 pts
    1939: Nels Stewart tops Morenz and retires in 1940 with 515 pts
    1945: Syd Howe breaks the record and retires in 1946 with 528 pts
    1947: Bill Cowley retires with 548 pts
    1952: Elmer Lach racks up 557 pts (and would go on to retire in '54 with 623 pts)
    1954: Maurice Richard finishes the season with 651 pts (retiring in 1960 w/ 955 pts)
    1960: Gordie Howe takes over with 977 pts and retires in 1980 with 1,850 pts
    1990: Wayne Gretzky finishes the season ahead of Howe and retires in 1999 with 2,857 pts
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2011
  2. plusandminus

    plusandminus Registered User

    Mar 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
monitoring_string = "358c248ada348a047a4b9bb27a146148"