By reducing division games, the NHL has reduced the rivalry excitement

Yatzhee

Aug 5, 2010
As a Sabres fan, at my age, I can remember the Nordique's rivalry, the Montreal rivalry, the Boston rivalry.
That has diminished so much since the reduction in division games for myself.
I am an industrial electrician, and traveled to 36 states over the past 30 years working, made many wonderful friends as I worked and lived in their communities. Almost all of them and myself still talk at least weekly to this day.
So, in an attempt to see if it's the same for fans across the league, I inquired. And yea, it's a small pool of 40 or so fans, roughly 18 teams, but each are fanatical as I am about hockey and our hometown teams.

What I found was 100% across the board that yes, the new type of scheduling has diluted the excitement in the rivalry area. And the additions of the new divisions and so on, these fans didn't feel remotely the same to the teams added to their home teams divisions as they did from the old system.

I concluded it is disappointing the NHL did this new division system.
My question is, do many of you feel the same? Curious as to how fans feel league wide.
Thanks in advance for responding, I sit back and read your thoughts.

Prairie Habs

Oct 3, 2010
I like it. Every team plays in every city every year which is a nice change from the way it was. As far as rivalries go, you play division rivals less in the regular season, but are more likely to play them in the playoffs, which is when real rivalries happen.

Schenn

In Rod We Trust
Sponsor
Feb 24, 2009
Huron County
I like that every team has a home and home with each other. I also think there should be more interdivisional games. My totally lame way to fix this is to have home and homes with every team that are not in your teams division, and the rest of the games be interdivisional.