Equipment: best blade curve for elevating wrist shots (beginner)

domm17

Apr 5, 2014
i am a beginner just getting into playing hockey, im 21 (better late than never, huh?). im signed up for a roller hockey league for the spring. anyway this is my main dilemma:

one thing ive been having trouble with is getting consistent lift/elevation on my wrist shots. i am currently using just a cheap wooden stick, i think the blade curve is some type of crosby model, but the curve seems almost flat. i have ripped some top corner shots on occasion, but no where near consistently. i know my technique isnt perfect right now, but i feel like if i get a blade that will help me out as much as possible, that would be beneficial. so heres the question.

what blade curve pattern (any brand) will really make it easy to elevate the puck on wrist shots/quick snapshots for a beginner. i dont see myself taking many slapshots at all in roller hockey so thats not too important. id like everything else to be decent though (passing, stickhandling, etc).

feel free to list a few curves that you have used that you think would fit what i am looking for. i was looking a bit at the bauer P88, P92 and i believe P91A. but i dont know much about them so i really have no idea what to get. remember i am a beginner playing roller hockey (we will be playing on a "painted, smooth concrete surface"), so factor that in to your answer. thanks!

additional question: what stick shafts are good for taking mainly wrist shots and getting them off the ground. i was planning on getting a two piece stick (so i can replace the blades when they wear down, this would be a good idea, yea?).

any advice and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

John

Sureshot

Thumbs up, soldier!
Apr 7, 2009
Personally, I struggled with the P92 when I was starting out. Switched to the P88 and found it much easier to elevate. Personal preference and technique dictates a lot, though.