Management Are you confident in the rebuild? Draft analysis and discussion

So... are you confident in the rebuild?

• Total voters

Xspyrit

DJ Dorion
Jun 29, 2008
Montreal, Canada
Since the only hope and way we have to build a successful hockey team might be through the draft, how will recent drafting compare to the previous era?

Under Bryan Murray as Ottawa GM (not coach), the team made the playoffs 5 times and won 1 playoffs round. The 2016-17's run was Dorion first season as GM, even though everybody knows it was Murray's team. Overall, the Sens were in the middle of the standings during the regular season, so modest results.

Murray was able to sign players like Sergei Gonchar, Clarke MacArthur and Alexei Kovalev, but also acquired Craig Anderson, Marc Methot, Kyle Turris, Bobby Ryan, etc by trade

Here below is an analysis of the 8 drafts Murray was in charge (not counting 2007 as he became GM 1 week before the draft) and approximatively where these players usually land in re-drafts. Just noting the guys that are seen as first rounders worthy

Note that we used two 1st round picks, a 2nd round pick (and 2 prospects) to acquire Kyle Turris (22 y/o, former 3rd OA pick) and Bobby Ryan (26 y/o, former 2nd OA pick)

2008 : Erik Karlsson ~ 3rd OA (vs 15th)
2010 : Mark Stone ~ 3rd OA (vs 178th)
2015 : Thomas Chabot ~ 6th OA (vs 18th)
2011 : Mika Zibanejad ~ 7th OA (vs 6th)
2009 : Mike Hoffman ~ 10th OA (vs 130th)
2014 : Bobby Ryan ~ 15th OA (vs 2nd) in 2005
2011 : Jean-Gabriel Pageau ~ 19th OA (vs 96th)
2010 : Kyle Turris ~ 20th OA (vs 3rd) in 2007

2009 : Robin Lehner ~ 20th OA (vs 46th)
2009 : Jakob Silfverberg ~ 22th OA (vs 39th)

2008 : Zack Smith ~ 25th OA (vs 79th)
2011 : Ryan Dzingel ~ 29th OA (vs 204th)
2012 : Cody Ceci ~ 29th OA (vs 15th)
2015 : Colin White ~ 30th OA (vs 21st)
2008 : Mark Borowiecki ~ 30th OA (vs 139th)

I am not 100% sure of what I am looking for with this thread but the questions would be :