NHL Entry Draft: 2011 Mock Draft Round 1

Discussion in 'Mock Drafts' started by DMaz16, Jun 6, 2011.

1. DMaz16

DMaz16 @DMaz16

This is my first attempt at a mock draft let me know awesome or terrible it is

1. Edmonton Oilers - C Ryan Nugent Hopkins

For a long time I held to the belief that the oilers would take Larsson but it's becoming more and more obvious the RNH is their man

2. Colorado Avalanche - D Adam Larsson

I think it's a no brainer pick for a team with the worst goals against per game by a fair margin last year

3. Florida Panthers - C Jonathan Huberdeau

The Panthers take the fast rising center third, originally I had Landeskog here but with Huberdeau's stock rising and Panthers GM Dave Tallon leaving the combine before Landeskog even worked out I think the Panthers have already made their decision.

4. New Jersey Devils - C Sean Couturier

No Landeskog here either, I see the Devils taking the best two-way forward in the draft with the fourth pick. Being 6'4'' 200lbs doesn't hurt either.

5. New York Islanders - LW Gabriel Landeskog

Landeskog's "fall" stops at pick five, while this pick doesn't really fill a need the Islanders are in full rebuild mode so I believe that they will take the best player available with this pick

6. Ottawa Senators - C Ryan Strome

A pure offence talent the sens will grab him at six. Though I'm sure they'll try their hardest to trade up to get Landeskog.

7. Winnipeg Jets? - C Mika Zibanejad

With a stable of talented young D I think that the *insert team name here* will draft Zibanejad, the best forward remaining, in an effort to solve a definite need at center.

8. Columbus Blue Jackets - D Dougie Hamilton

Should shore up their defence for the next decade or so, a solid prospect with perhaps a lower ceiling than some of the other D prospects but will almost surely be a permanent fixture in the NHL

9. Boston Bruins - D Ryan Murphy