goalie skate sharpness

Discussion in 'The Rink' started by bruins0506, Jan 25, 2007.

1. bruins0506

bruins0506 Registered User

I was wondering about sharpness for goalie skates. Which type is the shrpest and which type is the dullest. I have found this online, dont know too much about it though.

12 & under 1 inch

12-16 years old 3/4"

16 older 1/2" or 3/8"

If you could tell me your experience's with these I would appreciate that.

2. Bear of Bad News

Bear of Bad News HFBoards Escape Goat

One-half inch for me. I play a very aggressive crouch, and anything duller wouldn't allow me to stay on my feet.

3. DevilsFan38

DevilsFan38 Registered User

med student
    It's not so much sharper vs. duller as a shallower hollow vs. deeper hollow. The 3/8" is the deepest hollow (will grip the ice more) while the 1" is the shallowest hollow (will be easier to slide/scrape the ice).

4. UAGoalieGuy

UAGoalieGuy Registered User

Finance Operations
    I've used 3/8's since I started playing juniors at 17. All I used to workout were my legs and I need something as sharp as possible to grip the ice and I went side to side (If they were too dull or the hollow was too shallow) i would often go too far and shuffling

5. bruins0506

bruins0506 Registered User

from what it sounds like it goes from dullest 1" sharpest 3/8?

I've had my saktes for a long time and i usualy got them sharpened at 1", never really payed attention to what the 1" actually ment. Just recently i've been bothered by my skates seeming dull after about a week after i sharpened them (also got new pads and started playing butterfly). Next time i get them sharpened i'll go with a different hollow to see how that feels.

thanks.

6. MikeD

MikeD Registered User

Machinist
    Home Page: