Will the Wings sign James DeHaas?

Octopus

May 17, 2006
The Wings could use some size back on D and James DeHaas brings along with some skill. Anyone out know whether he will sign a contract and go to Grand Rapids next season?

Frk It

Mo Seider Less Problems
Jul 27, 2010
No one knows, because the beat writers haven't told us squat.

Rzombo4 prez

May 17, 2012
The Wings could use some size back on D and James DeHaas brings along with some skill. Anyone out know whether he will sign a contract and go to Grand Rapids next season?

I have no first-hand knowledge of his intentions or personal schedule, but sense that the longer he goes unsigned, the less likely it is to happen. He will have UFA options this summer if he doesn't sign with Detroit.

firebirds11

Mar 1, 2017
I have no first-hand knowledge of his intentions or personal schedule, but sense that the longer he goes unsigned, the less likely it is to happen. He will have UFA options this summer if he doesn't sign with Detroit.

Agreed. His season has been over for 1.5 weeks now and he's on spring break. Perfect time to sign with GR and get a full week of practice in before possibly having to finish up some business at school, like Renouf did last year.

SirloinUB

Aug 20, 2010
Canada

Conversely, we (or at least I) haven't seen rumblings of other league interest. Not saying it doesn't exist but usually there is at lot of chatter around the NCAA kids who are drafted but unsigned.

Really until we see some information one way or the other there is not much point speculating.

HisNoodliness

The Karate Kid and ASP Kai
Jun 29, 2014
Toronto
Yeah We have quite literally nothing to go on, but I dislike the silence. I feel like if Holland and co. expected to sign him there'd be some chatter. He'll probably go to UFA, and if the Wings are the best offer then maybe he'll sign with us. I don't like our odds.

firebirds11

Mar 1, 2017