What's wrong with this picture?

Discussion in 'International Tournaments' started by Dr_Chimera*, Jan 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
View Users: View Users
  1. Dr_Chimera*

    Dr_Chimera* Guest

  2. Bill McNeal

    Bill McNeal Registered User

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    12,798
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Occupation:
    N/A
    Location:
    Montreal
    Do you have a link to the video of the goal? This photo seems pretty incriminating, though it's possible it was caught right after entry into the offensive zone and he pulled the puck back a tad. So, they'd still be onside. We'd need to see the vid in slow-mo to see.
     
  3. Crosbyfan

    Crosbyfan Registered User

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    11,148
    Likes Received:
    722
    Trophy Points:
    169
    Don't blame the refs it was CSKA's posts; Remember?
    SSSSSSSSHHHHHHHAAAAAAAAAIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIBBBBBBBUUUUUUUUUUUU!!!
     
  4. Dr_Chimera*

    Dr_Chimera* Guest

    Well, according to my source in Finland (and he's of Finnish descent, so no bias), it was offside.

    I'd be more pissed had Russia actually DESERVED to win this game - they tempted fate and lost, but it's unfortunate that the referees screwed this up completely, as the outcome may have been completely different.
     
  5. Dr_Chimera*

    Dr_Chimera* Guest

    Hey, I won't even start on the whole karma argument.
     
  6. Frolov

    Frolov Registered User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well that sucks
     
  7. chicpea*

    chicpea* Guest

    heh, yeah, that looks pretty blatant alright. But, as noted, it could've been already in the zone and he was pulling back - I doubt it though based on where the 2nd winger is. Bad call I'd say. If it makes you feel any better - the Czechs got absolutely ripped off in their first game against us - the puck clearly passed Fleury and was in the net.

    Maybe we should have video-review at the WJCs? It would have made the Czech-Canada game closer and would've exonerated Phaneuf.
     
  8. Douggy

    Douggy Registered User

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    London, Ontario
    Home Page:
    Just because the player is currently ahead of the puck doesn't mean its offside. If your pic showed the puck outside the zone, it would've been a different story.
     
  9. Canadian

    Canadian Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Location:
    Markham, Ontario
    If you thought that was bad, let's go back to the 2002 WJHC Gold Medal Game, if I remember correctly, Canada was down by one to the Russians in the final period and with a few seconds left in the game, the Russian netminder pushed the net off on purpose. Correct me if I'm wrong, but when an opposing team is in another team's zone and if the goaltender knocks off the net on purpose with a final few seconds left in the game, shouldn't that be a penalty shot? Remember, this was a one goal game differential and Jason Spezza was in that slump of his, earlier in that game, he took a shot that went off the crossbar.
     
  10. Aaron Vickers

    Aaron Vickers FC Hockey

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    141
    Occupation:
    Managing Editor, FC Hockey
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    Home Page:
    Judging purely by that picture, that play is on-side, is it not? The puck is not out of the zone, so wouldn't that make the play onside?

    Now whether or not the finnish player entered the zone before the puck, that would require a video.
     
  11. Crosbyfan

    Crosbyfan Registered User

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    11,148
    Likes Received:
    722
    Trophy Points:
    169
    It was a bizarre goal anyway. Even more bizarre if that was onside!
     
  12. ZombieMatt

    ZombieMatt Registered User

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think we've all figured out that you can't complain about officiating in this tournament.

    It is terrible.

    Face it, deal with it, move on.

    They make ridiculous calls on penalties, miss offsides, in the past have missed players intentionally knocking the net off its moorings, make questionable decisions when to call off icing...I mean, it is a staple of this tournament.

    Besides, its all a moot point if the goalie could just catch a weak floater.
     
  13. topshelf331

    topshelf331 Registered User

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    84
    Location:
    Stl
    Home Page:
    I thought the linesmen call offsides. ;)
     
  14. kobasew07

    kobasew07 Registered User

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Russian goalie should have stopped the final goal anyways.
     
  15. ehc73

    ehc73 Registered User

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    5,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    CS Student
    Location:
    Coquitlam, BC
    Home Page:
    Don't linesmen have some unwritten rule such that if there's a doubt, be safe and call it offside?
     
  16. zoidberg

    zoidberg Registered User

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    9,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    zoidberg
    Home Page:
    That's onside - at least to me. A puck can be touching any part of the blue line to be onside, it doesn't have to be completely in.
     
  17. Bill McNeal

    Bill McNeal Registered User

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    12,798
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Occupation:
    N/A
    Location:
    Montreal
    Please tell me your post total is due to some modifying :)
     
  18. Dr_Chimera*

    Dr_Chimera* Guest

    That's bright of you, but where were they a second before that shot was made?
     
  19. canucksfan

    canucksfan Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    34,508
    Likes Received:
    642
    Trophy Points:
    214
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Home Page:
    The picture doesn't prove anything. Even if is was offside the goalie should have stopped a weak shot. Face it Russia didn't have a good team and blaming the linesmen is low. Even though this picture doesn't even prove that it was offside.
     
  20. Dr_Chimera*

    Dr_Chimera* Guest

    People are saying that it's offside. I have Finnish hockey fans saying that it was offside.

    That said, my post shouldn't serve to say that this call cost Russia a shot at the gold medal. They deserved what they got - you play with fire, you get burned. End of story.

    That said, the brutal calls by the referees and the linesmen in this tournament is clearly illustrated in this specific play.
     
  21. Jussi

    Jussi Registered User

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    62,272
    Likes Received:
    1,040
    Trophy Points:
    214
    Location:
    The List Of Jericho
    Home Page:
    I admit it's been over 2 days since the game but I do remember from the replays that Bergenheim cleared the off side, then circled back in to the zone. IIRC, Filppula carrie the puck over the line then pulled it back a little but not back into the neutral zone. That's my vagueish memory.
     
  22. Crosbyfan

    Crosbyfan Registered User

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    11,148
    Likes Received:
    722
    Trophy Points:
    169
    Looking at it that seems quite possible; Maybe as high as the 0.001 percent range!
     
  23. Sammy*

    Sammy* Guest

    The silence is deafening.
     
  24. PecaFan

    PecaFan Registered User

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    8,938
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    141
    Location:
    Ottawa (Go 'Nucks)
    Home Page:
    Um, folks, that's the wrong side of blue line to be freeze framing an offside picture. It's *not* the side closer to the net, it's the side closer to centre ice, the outer edge. NHL Rule 74a. Doesn't surprise me, most folks get it wrong, which is why I usually scoff at those screaming "offside!"

    To prove it's offside, freeze frame it the millisecond the puck completely enters the blue line.
     
  25. Slay

    Slay Registered User

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Location:
    Krasnoyarsk
    Ooook let's go back to the 2002 WJHC Gold Medal Game.

    Here the reply of that moment:

    http://alexovechkin.narod.ru/video/wjc2002b.avi

    The net was pushed off about half a second - a second till the end of the 3rd period and it doesn't look for me that it was made by purpose by the goalie. I don't know that could be a penalty shot for THAT.

    Since you mentioned that game, here are some potentially key referee mistakes vs Russian team:

    First goal of Canadian team was scored (on 20th second of 1st period) illegaly: Stoll just pushed the puck by hand to Sutherby and I don't think that it is legal eh; here the video replies:

    http://alexovechkin.narod.ru/video/wjc2002a.avi
    http://alexovechkin.narod.ru/video/wjc2002a2.avi

    During 4-3 leading of Russian team Volchenkov got a penalty for elbowing but in my opinion it was clear shoulder hit; during that power play Canada tied the scored; video reply:

    http://alexovechkin.narod.ru/video/wjc2002_volch.avi

    I hope I satisfactied your curiosity about that Gold Medal Game ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

monitoring_string = "358c248ada348a047a4b9bb27a146148"