Weightlifting Q&A

Jarick

Doing Nothing
What's your height and weight if you don't mind me asking?

5'8 203 today.

The other interesting thing was when I started lifting 6 weeks ago, my weight and waist dropped, and as I got heavier weights, my weight and waist rose. Diet is obviously a big part but with more weight, I was a LOT hungrier, and with less I've been able to eat a lot less food.

ConoR187

Aug 29, 2008
Columbus, Ohio
i have CRAZY doms today from my leg workout 2 days ago and i have a game tonight.. i was thinking about getting on the bike now, what else?

BaconStrips

Oct 22, 2005
Last Friday hit 195 on the back squat for 2 sets of 5, then just hit the wall and couldn't go any more. Napped for 2 hours right afterwards. Throughout the weekend had a sore low back and left knee felt loose all weekend, just unnatural.

Took Monday off, then yesterday I did some more basic exercises. Did ATG bodyweight squats, tried front squats with a bar focusing on perfect form, did some SLSL deadlifts with an arm behind the back (per Gray Cook, to focus on keeping it straight), split squats, and single-leg squats (more half squats as I just wanted to see the motion).

I will say my hamstrings were a lot more sore than ever before, and my quads got hit pretty good too. Not enough in the glutes which I believe is due to lack of balance on the deadlifts (didn't do any regular deadlifts but will next time). There was no pain or stress in the lower back. Don't know if that is good or bad. But I'm guessing it all means I've been adding weight to really bad form and getting pain instead of good muscle soreness.