Toews... Underrated ?

BabyBennettov

May 2, 2002
Under the Sunshine
Visit site
Just wanted to share my opinions on that one !

With all the Backstrom love out here, and the "Staal syndrome", I think of the top prospect is getting overlooked !

Jonathan Toews was a top-2 and contending for first overall at the beginning of the WJC ! Also remember that Toews is a year younger than Kessel ! The kid scored more goals than Phil (correct me if I'm wrong, I'm not that good with NCAA stats), and his shot is one of the best in the draft (Phil's better, I didn't brought the goals thing for that), yet he is falling !

Why ? Maybe because Staal and Backstrom have played better... For me it's not the case... It's just that Toews has been labeled as the "best two-way" forward in the draft and generalli it's not an honor ! People will think you don't any offensive potential... Toews reminds me a lot of Eric Staal in his draft year...

With Toews you are getting at least Kirk Muller in his prime... At best, you get a Sakic or Yzerman-type of player ! If Toews is out of the top-3, I'll be laughing because it would mean that the Caps have a chance at him, and I'm scared to death of seeing a Ovechkin-Toews-Career minor league player line !

I haven't seen that much of Backstrom and Staal though... I'm just a big Toews believer ! I also think that Staal looks so weak (in terms of body musculation...) he could break one of his bones just by getting a pinch in the arm :confused:

FLYLine27*

BUCH
Nov 9, 2004
NY
I'd agree Toews is underrated around here because other players get much more publicity and he is often overlooked. Whoever drafts him will draft a VERY smart and good player.

fullmetalninja

Jan 11, 2003
Chicago
It certainly looks like the Hawks want him at #3, they aren't very good poker players (everyone in the world knew they were drafting Skille last year, and barker before that).