Switched Patterns..

OpenIceHit42

May 27, 2011
STL
Was using a Sakic pattern for awhile and decided to give the Getzlaf a try, for the first few weeks everything was fine but lately seems like any time I get ahold of one (slap shot, snap shot is fine) the puck comes off my stick on end and seems to flutter. I've been playing for 21 years and have never experienced anything like this before. Anyone else experienced this with this pattern?

Fly Like a C5

Dec 22, 2008
Could be that you are leaving the the face of the blade open and not rolling your wrist as you shoot. Do you finish your shot with the face or the blade pointing down and the shaft pointing at the target?

OpenIceHit42

May 27, 2011
STL
Could be that you are leaving the the face of the blade open and not rolling your wrist as you shoot. Do you finish your shot with the face or the blade pointing down and the shaft pointing at the target?

I haven't really paid attention. I guess I should? :laugh:

ponder

Jul 11, 2007
Vancouver
So you're only having this problem on slap shots, not snap shots? Normally I'd say that since you were going from somewhat of a mid-toe curve (Sakic) to a heel curve (Getzlaf) that you might be shooting with the puck starting in the mid-toe area, while heel curves require you to shoot from the mid-heel area, but that's something I'd expect you to notice more on snap/wrist shots, as slap shots with open heel wedges like the Getzlaf tend to be pretty forgiving in terms of where you strike the puck. Still, trying to make sure you're striking the puck in the mid-heel area, not closer to the toe.

Agreed with secretsquirrel that you should make sure you aren't opening up the face of the blade when shooting, keep it closed, let the loft built into the blade and the flex of the stick get the puck up.

One other tip would be to hit the ice just slightly with the toe first, like this: