Starting hockey at the age of 20

Finpower

Jan 16, 2019
Hey I'm 20 years old and just started to play hockey. I'm pretty athletic and have played other sports, even though I have very little experience in hockey. My goal is to make it to one of the top amateur leagues in Finland. Just wondering if this is realistic. I just want to have fun but I still wonder what is my ultimate potential.

Fremitus Borealis

Flügelstürmer
Feb 4, 2007
The Slot
For anybody starting hockey after the age of like 6, the single biggest hurdle to overcome is skating. People who have been skating since kindergarten age almost always have an advantage. So if you're just starting out, I would work on skating as much as possible (including taking any power skating lessons or classes available in your area). I've seen guys at pickup hockey who, during warmups, are doing all these insane looking dangle moves (while standing still) and you're like, "Oh great, one of these guys..." And then when the puck drops, they all of a sudden look like they've never played before, because they can't skate very well.

I don't know anything about the top amateur leagues in Finland, but if you've already got experience in other sports, are reasonably athletic, and work really hard on your skating, my hunch is "making it" to one of these leagues is at least theoretically possible within a few years.

Reactions: LarryO

Arselona

Nov 9, 2007
I guess top amateur league in Finland would be filled with quite serious/dedicated players with years of experience from competetive junior hockey. Reaching that level might be an unrealistic goal for an adult newbie.

Reactions: EightyOne

puckpilot

Oct 23, 2016
Anything is possible if you have the time and dedication, but realistically, how much time do you have to dedicate it hockey?

You're going to have to catch up to players who have probably 10 plus years of experience on you. It's going to take more than once a week on the ice to do that.