Skate sharpening question

Ti-girl

Jan 29, 2005
Merida, Mexico
Hey guys,

Okay, so I got new skates this year and I seems to be having a problem with sharpenings on them now.

I used to take them to this privetly owned skate sharpening place and he just did them. I'm not sure what the hollow was on the blade, but they were ALWAYS perfect.

I moved and got new skates. Now when I get them sharpened for the first game-game and a half I'm falling over myself. The skates are WAY TOO SHARP.

I went from Vector 6.0 to RBK 9K pumps. I know the steel is better, but is it THAT big of a difference? What should I do?

BuddehJuS

Nov 25, 2006
I had the same problem about 1 week ago. I just kinda had to grind it out. If I were you, I would just tell the guy, you don't want them incredibly sharp because it really effected your skating last time. Unfortunately, I'm not good at the whole hollow size and such.

MikeD

Jul 3, 2006
Buffalo NY
www.hawksice.com
Drop a call to the guy whos grinds you liked and ask what he was using on them. You can then pass that on to your new grinder.

try to find a gage to check your radius and edges. Part of the problem may be a bad grind..ie edges uneven, center of radius off, etc etc. For a radius check....if your having a 1/2" ROH ground... a circle with a diameter of 1" should sit in the Hollow perfectly. Held up to a light you should see nothing between blade and your 1" disc.

What I can do for you guys is make some discs. I am a machinist by trade so if you want a disc to check your radius just ell me what size and I will make one and send it out to you. Drop a Pm with shipping info and I will send you an aluminum ROH gage.

Polska

May 25, 2004
Vancouver
Sounds like your new sharpener is giving you a deeper hollow. Eventually they'll dull down to where you like 'em, but next time mention you want a shallower hollow.