Should I take figure skating lessons

Blackjack

Feb 13, 2003
keyjhboardd +bro]ke
Visit site
I'm 29 years old, been skating since I was about 22. I generally try to get to public skating once a week to work on pivots and stops/starts etc.

I've seen figure skaters at public skating before, but today there was a girl there that was just absolutely fantastic. Crossovers at blistering speed, casual pivots into backwards crossovers and all of it was just so smooth and effortless.

I don't have any delusions of ever being able to skate like that, but if I could only learn to skate half that well I imagine I could jump from C league to B league. Anyone here have experience taking figure skating lessons? Did it help your game?

Maccas

Aug 26, 2010
England
To be honest I started learning on a figure skating course (got up to grade 7) so I can't really compare my skating before and after but I can't imagine my edge control would be anywhere as near as good as it is now without the lessons. I regularly get complemented on my skating considering I've only been skating for about 5/6 months now

Copeland

Sep 25, 2010
Vancouver, BC
To be honest I started learning on a figure skating course (got up to grade 7) so I can't really compare my skating before and after but I can't imagine my edge control would be anywhere as near as good as it is now without the lessons. I regularly get complemented on my skating considering I've only been skating for about 5/6 months now

How did you get to such a high level (I'm guessing grade 7 is fairly high in the "learn to skate" system where you are) in just 5-6 months? :amazed:

Well, in my neck of the woods you can't take a hockey class until you know how to skate, so it's either take the figure skating classes or learn on your own, so I can't really help you there :laugh:

noobman

Nov 28, 2007