Sharks Re-Brand: Old Meets New

Ukapitalo

Jul 5, 2009
Santa Cruz, CA
I'm a designer by trade and have had this sitting around for a while. This was just a personal project I did for fun and wasn't planning on sharing it but in recent light of the original jerseys being voted best NHL jerseys in Hockey News, I thought I'd share my re-brand I did on the Sharks that was based on the original jerseys and colors.

This started because I really love the original colors and logo, but was never really a fan of the original shark illustration. I liked the new logo, but was strongly against the over-use of orange and felt there were way too many edges being used (I guess to get a somewhat 3d look). So, I removed the orange from the brand and took my favorite elements of old and new and came up with this:

sharks-logo-redesign.png

And then of course placing this logo on the original jersey design with the fin shoulder patch:

jersey-set.png

jersey.png

Love it/Hate it?

CanadienShark

Dec 18, 2012
Very nice. I slightly prefer the original version. It's one of my favourites of all time, but if the Sharks moved to this, it'd inspire me to finally buy a jersey.

Felys

Sep 17, 2007
Seattle, WA
The problem with the new shark when you flatten it out that much is that it creates a LOT of negative space, the additional teal accents give the logo some pop. Could it do without the orange? sure it could, but to make it a flat black gives it a very dull appearance. There's a reason why the original logo had a white & black stroke to give the logo more definition.

sharski

Jun 4, 2012
i like it, but i don't get why there is a teal inner stripe on the triangle on the right side of the logo but not the left

Boy Hedican

Homer Jr, friends call me Ho-Ju
Jul 12, 2006
Earff
as a fellow designer, I appreciate your design. I've also done this similar concept in the past.

Good job.