Rule 69 - Interference on the Goalkeeper

Discussion in 'The Rink' started by NJDwoot, Feb 10, 2011.

View Users: View Users
  1. NJDwoot

    NJDwoot Registered User

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Under rule 69 there is a little sentence that I am curious what it consists of...

    69.4 Contact Outside the Goal Crease

    When a goalkeeper has played the puck outside of his crease and is then prevented from returning to his crease area due to the deliberate actions of an attacking player, such player may be penalized for goalkeeper interference. Similarly, the goalkeeper may be penalized, if by his actions outside of his crease he deliberately interferes with an attacking player who is attempting to play the puck or an opponent

    If an attacking player is racing for the puck that is heading towards the goalie, no one else is really around so its pretty clear the player is going for it. As the attacking player is getting the puck, the goalie does a diving poke check (essentially trying to get to the puck first)... which causes the attacking player to run into him and fly over.

    Does that scenario fall under this rule or no?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Gino 14

    Gino 14 Registered User

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If the goalie doesn't get the puck but trips up the attacker, technically yes. Good luck getting a call on that unless it's very obvious that the goalie made no attempt to play the puck. It may be in the rules but it probably won't get called.
     
  3. NJDwoot

    NJDwoot Registered User

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah I see. it wasnt called. I'm just curious if it would fall under that rule.

    Thanks for the reply.
     
  4. densetsu

    densetsu Registered User

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Programmer / Analyst
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Home Page:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W5u0khFnHUg -- I love any excuse to post this video. :D

    As to your scenario, I was always under the impression that:
    • If the goalie touched the puck first (and especially if he poked it away, forcing the skater to double-back and get it), then the goalie is in the clear.
    • If the goalie went straight for the player, then it's a penalty.
    • If it's somewhat in the middle of the above two situations, where he got the puck and player at the same time (much like the video above), then it's at the discretion of the ref.
     
  5. Copeland

    Copeland Registered User

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
  6. Gino 14

    Gino 14 Registered User

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I love that video and never could quite believe that they called Hasek for the trip.
     
  7. ORYX

    ORYX Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think the goalie should be called everytime for something like that. Just because he is a goalie doesnt make it okay to do that.

    Its one thing if Gaborik didnt have puck control or it was a race to the puck, in that case fine, but Gaborik had full puck possession and Hasek decided to charge him and slide at his feet.

    Penalty no doubt.
     
  8. Gino 14

    Gino 14 Registered User

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In case you missed this, that's where the puck was. Just sayin'
     
  9. CGNY87

    CGNY87 Registered User

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Also where his eyes were looking. If he had looked up it would have been an easy goal, but if he had been looking up I doubt Hasek would have done that
     

Share This Page

monitoring_string = "358c248ada348a047a4b9bb27a146148"