POLL: Should Head-First Slams Be Banned In MMA?

Should head-first slams be banned in MMA?

• Yes

• No

Results are only viewable after voting.

Perennial

Jun 27, 2020
I don't think any of us want to see a fighter lose their ability to move from the neck down, but it seems inevitable if head-first slams remain legal in MMA...

I'm no doctor, but it looks like Fedor came within an inch or two of never being able to walk again...

Here's Rose almost losing more than just her belt...

And while this broken neck was the result of a poorly executed flying armbar rather than a head-first slam, for those of you wanting to see what it looks like when a fighter breaks their neck in competition, well, here's your chance...

CDJ

Nov 20, 2006
Hell baby
I ultimately don’t have a problem with how Rose was slammed but I don’t think piledrivers should be allowed in MMA, no

pistolpete11

Apr 27, 2013
I'd be OK with them being banned. We see it so infrequently anyway that it wouldn't effect the product much at all and if it protects fighters and us from seeing someone die or get paralyzed, then sure.

There is a difference between the Andrade-Rose slam and a piledriver. I think there's even already a rule on the books regarding that, but saying a piledriver was 'accidental' because they were trying to go for a 'legal' slam doesn't really do any good for the guy/gal that ends up dead or paralyzed. How many times have we seen fighters say they didn't mean to throw illegal strikes, but it's so hectic in a fight. Yan-Sterling comes to mind as does Alvarez-Poirier (twice, actually). So yeah, I'd be fine to remove the gray area and ban them. Don't leave it up to fighters to determine the trajectory of a slam during a fight.

chicagoskycam

Land of #1 Overall Picks
Nov 19, 2009
Fulton Market, Chicago
chicagoskycam.com