PC Building Guide and Discussion #11 (everything is expensive...)

Discussion in 'Geek Emporium' started by G F O P, Feb 1, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
View Users: View Users
  1. Kestrel

    Kestrel Registered User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7,971
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Trophy Points:
    139
    I'm running dual monitors, and they're different. A 23 inch AOC and a 21.5 inch LG, both IPS screens. The larger one gets my Plex/Netflix videos on it, and certain games, while the other one gets my browsing, Minecraft, mining, etc on it. I find having two different monitors in my case is just fine.
     
  2. Bocephus86

    Bocephus86 Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4,668
    Likes Received:
    604
    Trophy Points:
    109
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Malden
    I run two different external monitors & my laptop (in the middle) at my workstation; I switch stuff around between all 3 all the time... the two externals are just about the same size though so even though they are different, my eyes don't really notice. I had some issues in certain citrix and RDP environments but figure out it's because I had different scaling set on one of the monitors (was @ 125% vs 100%); once I set them all the same I've had no issue.

    I also have a second, different (much different) monitor on my gaming rig but I don't really do anything with it... I might have a system monitoring app running during a game and/or a tips&tricks list for a new game but its the ultimate useless second monitor hah.
     
  3. Easy E

    Easy E Registered User

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    66
    MSI Armor RX580 8GB for $250 with $20 MIR out there somewhere.
     
  4. guinness

    guinness swedish milkmaid

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,391
    Likes Received:
    608
    Trophy Points:
    214
    Location:
    Missoula, Montana
    Home Page:
    I picked one up through Best Buy's ebay store, regular site was sold out. I never have good luck with MIR, like ever, so if it doesn't work...

    Will try and off load my 970 for a little bit, it's largely a lateral upgrade, but more VRAM (I do have 4K), and better DX 12 performance when it becomes a bigger deal. To think I saw 580s selling for close to $400 the other day.

    Bonus, my monitor does have Freesync support.

    Either this means that either Vega prices are going to drop too, or better, mining is losing a little bit of steam, and pricing will be sane again.
     
  5. Kestrel

    Kestrel Registered User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7,971
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Profitability has recently gone back up again, so I wouldn't count on mining losing steam yet. That said, there were probably people that bailed and sold off cards during the last crash who haven't bought back in.
     
  6. Kestrel

    Kestrel Registered User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7,971
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Trophy Points:
    139
    I've got a friend who wants me to build her a computer on a limited budget... which also has to pay for a 27ish inch IPS screen. I'm debating whether it's better to get her an r3 2200G, and squeeze money out of the budget for an X470 to ensure Raven Ridge compatibility (it'd be nice if the B450s were already out!) or get her a cheap socket 1151 board and processor. The thing will not be a gamer, it will likely be a Photoshop and browsing machine. For her use, I don't know that I see an advantage to the i3-8100 given its CDN price point, but I'll have to research this one some more. I'm loathe to give anyone a less-than-4-core processor these days, so going the Celeron route is a tough sell for me, but I might have to look at it.
     
  7. Commander Clueless

    Commander Clueless Most Displeased

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    11,810
    Likes Received:
    324
    Trophy Points:
    124
    Ryzen 3 would give her a little more graphical headroom, but an i3-8100 would likely have the advantage of a cheaper B360 board.

    B450 boards are likely to launch late July, if you can wait that long:

    German IT distributor shares AMD and Intel 2018 CPU roadmaps


    If you can make it work the 2200G seems like a good option here. However, from the use case scenario, I think either would work.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2018
  8. Kestrel

    Kestrel Registered User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7,971
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Yeah, I don't think either is really a "wrong" answer - looking at the prices on the B360 boards, the difference is compelling with her situation. Even the full size ATX boards do save some money. If I could find a B350 board, or even a cheap X370 board that I knew was Raven Ridge ready, and didn't require sending away for an old AM4 processor for flashing purposes, that would work great too.

    Edit: And my rant - what the hell is with modern motherboards that have VGA connectors but not HDMI???? Yes, the board I'm looking at had DVI too, but to include VGA but not HDMI in a board released in 2016+ is a travesty!
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2018
  9. SolidSnakeUS

    SolidSnakeUS Registered User Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    41,875
    Likes Received:
    2,304
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Lancaster, PA
    If you think about it, it's kinda crazy that I could probably sell my i7-6700K and the motherboard associated with it and probably make enough back to fully upgrade to an AMD system.

    Also, seriously, why are so many old Intel CPUs still so expensive? I guess it's because the difference in their iterations isn't big enough for a big price drop?
     
  10. Kestrel

    Kestrel Registered User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7,971
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Trophy Points:
    139
    I suspect that has something to do with it - but in my experience, computer hardware never goes down in price proportionately to its performance. Where I particularly noticed that was video cards - before mining was even a thing.
     
  11. SolidSnakeUS

    SolidSnakeUS Registered User Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    41,875
    Likes Received:
    2,304
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Lancaster, PA
    Video cards felt more spaced out and more logical than it is now with CPUs.

    The 2700x is cheaper right now than the i7-6700K. That's sad.
     
  12. Kestrel

    Kestrel Registered User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7,971
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Maybe I should sell the i7-6700K in my Plex server, and get a 2700x :laugh:
     
  13. SolidSnakeUS

    SolidSnakeUS Registered User Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    41,875
    Likes Received:
    2,304
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Lancaster, PA
    I was seriously considering it. I could probably sell the CPU and the motherboard for the same price as a new 2700x and motherboard.
     
  14. Kestrel

    Kestrel Registered User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7,971
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Trophy Points:
    139
    It would give me more encoding power... but already having a 16 core and a 4 core system, both hyper-threaded, maybe I'm getting greedy :D
     
  15. SolidSnakeUS

    SolidSnakeUS Registered User Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    41,875
    Likes Received:
    2,304
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Lancaster, PA
  16. Kestrel

    Kestrel Registered User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7,971
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Trophy Points:
    139
    I never heard anything concrete, but the rumours one of my coworkers sent my way made it sound like a very anti-competitive attempt - not one I am sure would have been strictly legal, if the details I was given were accurate. Do you have a brief rundown of what it was actually supposed to be?
     
  17. SolidSnakeUS

    SolidSnakeUS Registered User Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    41,875
    Likes Received:
    2,304
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Lancaster, PA
    Basically those that joined would have gotten the largest supply of cards and support directly from Nvidia, but the rumored caveat was that those companies were allowed to ONLY make Nvidia cards, which means forcing them to drop AMD cards. And if you weren't part of the group, you would get basically the scraps and very little support. Extreme anti-competitive/anti-trust bull****.
     
  18. Commander Clueless

    Commander Clueless Most Displeased

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    11,810
    Likes Received:
    324
    Trophy Points:
    124
    I'm glad the GPP is dead, although we'd seen that ASUS had gotten around it by simply branding their Radeon cards as "AREZ" instead of "ASUS ROG STRIX"....or at least they tried to.
     
  19. Kestrel

    Kestrel Registered User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7,971
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Scummy video card companies :laugh:
     
  20. The Kingslayer

    The Kingslayer Registered User

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    40,682
    Likes Received:
    2,475
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Location:
    Siem Reap, Cambodia
    Not sure if this is the right place to post this but just wondering if any of you can help me out.
    Yesterday, I started up the PC like usual and the start up screen kept loading. You know that cool circly thing. Anyways after about 15 mins I turned of the PC and had to do it an additional time. Got into the Advanced Options. Tried Start up Repair which eventually finished but got back to the circle of love. Tried System Restore and once that finished same thing happened. I suspect there was some sort of update that's caused this issue. Anyways if any of you can help I would be in your debt.
     
  21. Kestrel

    Kestrel Registered User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7,971
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Trophy Points:
    139
    My first step would be to leave it for several hours. That probably won't change anything, but every now and then, you get an update that will sit, visually unresponsive, for an extended amount of time, but it is actually doing something behind the scenes. If that doesn't do anything, we can definitely do more troubleshooting. Is it Windows 10?
     
    The Kingslayer likes this.
  22. The Kingslayer

    The Kingslayer Registered User

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    40,682
    Likes Received:
    2,475
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Location:
    Siem Reap, Cambodia
    Yes Windows 10. I left it loading all day until I woke up this morning and it was still loading haha. Just looking around this seems to be happening to a lot of people the past few days.
     
  23. sandman441

    sandman441 Registered User

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    6,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    ALASKA
    So I priced out the parts that I wanted and it was going to cost $2000. I said screw that and just bought a prebuilt computer. it was $1100

    so it has a i7-7700 cpu
    16gb ram
    gtx 1060 3gb
     
  24. mouser

    mouser Business of Hockey

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,927
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    Trophy Points:
    170
    Location:
    South Mountain
    Have you tried booting it up in Safe Mode?
     
  25. The Kingslayer

    The Kingslayer Registered User

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    40,682
    Likes Received:
    2,475
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Location:
    Siem Reap, Cambodia
    Nope couldnt get in to Safe Mode. Was able to find a way to reset things. Lost all my apps but watever got them all back anyways. Apparently i was running super low on space (15 mb) not sure how that happened as I had 15 gigs the night before. So I was unable to get in. All is good right now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

monitoring_string = "358c248ada348a047a4b9bb27a146148"