NHL PP goal question

Discussion in 'By The Numbers' started by morehockeystats, Jan 5, 2019.

  1. morehockeystats

    morehockeystats Unusual hockey stats

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Occupation:
    sysadmin
    Location:
    San Jose
    Home Page:
    A definition question.

    If a minor penalty is called at 06:50, and the goal is scored by the PP team at 08:50, is the goal considered a PP Goal.

    The consideration "the penalized player stepped on the ice" cannot be valid, can it? Because there is a similar situation without any ice-stepping relevance:

    When there is a double minor called at 06:50, and the goal is scored by the PP team at 08:50, is it counted against the first or the second part of the minor?

    Similar question about SH goals; and when there are overlapping penalties, e.g.
    Team A gets called for a minor at 06:50.
    Team B gets called for a minor at 07:50.
    Team A scores exactly at 08:50. Is it a PPG and is the remainder of B's penalty written off?

    Hope I am clear enough, and thanks!
     
  2. morehockeystats

    morehockeystats Unusual hockey stats

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Occupation:
    sysadmin
    Location:
    San Jose
    Home Page:
    The answer is in the tables at the end of the NHL rulebook.
    The first question: The last opportunity to score the PPG is at 08:49. The goal at 08:50 is EV.
    The 2nd: The 1st DM already expired, so the PPG expires the second one.
    The 3rd: it's a PPG and the Team B's minor expires.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
monitoring_string = "358c248ada348a047a4b9bb27a146148"