My Open Letter to the Isles

cjdv16

Nov 22, 2005
The Swamp
I wasn't sure how best to contact the Islanders. I opted to use the messaging function as part of their ticket plan page. Gave them my real address, phone, and email. Challenged Wang to dial or email me personally. After 30+ years as a fan, I deserve an explanation.

Born in '75. Witnessed a bit of good things and over 20+ years of disgrace.

If he wants my money, he's going to call me.

What are the chances I get a response from that piece of crap?

I figured I only had a certain number of characters to post in the comments so I was short and sweet. I bet I get a call from a ticket rep who pretends not to have even read my comments and tries to sell me something. Lord help that person calling me.

I'm a northern NJ resident and long-time (30+ year) Islander fan. I've converted my wife and 3 kids into Isles fans. I was strongly considering a partial package for the final year in the old barn.

However, after witnessing the appalling business practice of the Islanders over the past off season, ineptitude of the general management, and lack of desire to spend (most recently with Vanek and the lack of desire to pay salary to net a good trade return), you can count me out.

In fact, here's a test. Let's see how much Charles Wang wants my money. If he calls me or emails me personally and directly, I'll purchase a partial plan. If not, forget it. I want an explanation personally as to why:

1. there's a minimalist approach to spending for talent and to improve this organization (coaching staff, GM, and players included)
2. why Vanek netted the return he did (I want the real story)
3. why there's no accountability within the organization from the manager on down (will we ever fire our inept, puppet GM and hire someone with real experience rather than OTJ training?)
4. a guarantee as to when this organization will stop being run like a joke