News Article: Michigan Board OK's new Arena

opivy

Sauce King
Sep 14, 2011
Columbus, OH
http://espn.go.com/nhl/story/_/id/9506294/michigan-board-oks-new-red-wings-arena-detroit

"This is part of investing in Detroit's future," Snyder said. "That's the message we need to get across. ... As we stabilize the city government's finances, as we address those issues and improve services, Detroit moves from a place where people might have had a negative impression -- although there are great things already going on -- to being a place that will be recognized across the world as a place of great value and a place to invest."

Looks like the cities bankruptcy has no impact on the arena.

LLoyd Christmas I

Jul 11, 2013
All I know is that if I was a Detroit resident, I'd be seriously pissed.

Hopefully though, this is a positive sign of things to come.

Vladdy84

L-O-Y-A-L-T-Y
Dec 1, 2011
Farmington
Excellent news. Last night on my way home from fishing I turned on WDFN. Apparently it's had local far left radio programming from like 8-11 now. Everyone to blame was Snyder, the Bankers (akin to drug dealers according to the host), the white man and Republicans for Detroit's current situation. Can't wait to tune in tonight!

RedWingsNow*

There's a massive shift in tax burden going in Michigan right now.
We don't have enough money for school districts and roads, but we've got money to eliminate the business tax, the personal property tax, and to invest in a scheme that benefits one of the richest families in Michigan....

If Ilitch can't pay for it himself, why is he even in business?

RedWingsNow*

Because the public has funded public pensions and salaries for 30+ years under corrupt agreements?

Because the public promised pensions and salaries for people who did the public's work.

Pensions for cops, firefighters and DPW employees doesn't bother me.

Jul 26, 2007
Vermont