Lidstrom Vs. Shore

RabbinsDuck

Feb 1, 2008
Brighton, MI
I had posted this earlier but thought I would focus more on just Shore and Lidstrom.

I went into this more on the main board than I did here -- but I believe Harvey/Shore/Bourque/Lidstrom are a lot closer than many give credit for.

Lidstrom gets slaughtered for his lack of competition, but Shore and Harvey have so far been exempt from this same argument versus Bourque. I think it is clear Bourque faced more higher end competition than any of these guys, and that needs to be considered - w/o exempting the old guys.

I rate these guys in the following way:

Defensively
1) Harvey
2) Lidstrom
3) Bourque
4) Shore

Offensively
1) Bourque
2) Shore
3) Lidstrom
4) Harvey

Playoffs
1) Harvey
2) Lidstrom
3) Shore
4) Bourque

The category I studied least is playoffs - I am confident Lidstrom is better than Bourque in the playoffs and Harvey is better than Shore, but have not made as much of an attempt to compare the younger guys to the older guys.

It is no secret award voting favors offense, even for defenseman, which helps explain Shore's and Bourque's advantage in year-by-year voting, but I argue actual defense from a defenseman is more valuable than offense. I believe voting over the years (with a few noted exceptions (ie. Langway)) has favored offense over defense by a ratio of 70 to 30. Whereas I view the true measure of a defenseman should be closer to 60-40 favoring actual defense.

So I give more weight to the top defensive defenseman of their era - Harvey and Lidstrom.
Do Shore's and Bourque's offensive advantage make up the ground?