IIHF rules question

Discussion in 'International Tournaments' started by chbass, May 12, 2011.

  1. chbass

    chbass Registered User

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    if a goal is scored on a delayed penalty when the teams are already playing 4v4(not coincidental penaltys), would the scoring team end up with 2 minutes pp(minus whatever is left on their penalty) or should the delayed penalty be waived off?

    If anyone saw Norway-Finland, thats what happened(i think :) )
     
  2. Sanderson

    Sanderson Registered User

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    5,570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Home Page:
    I'd say 4 on 4 should stay 4 on 4 no matter what. Penalties only expire if a powerplay-goal has been scored, not when a goal is scored 4 on 4. If there is a delayed penalty, a goal would wipe out that penalty, not the old one. At least that's what I get out of the IIHF-rulebook.

    They did introduce a new rule, 514d, which says that if a team that is shorthanded gets a delayed penalty and a goal is scored, the old penalty will be wiped out and the new one will be put in place, but I don't think they made that change for 4 on 4 or 3 on 3 as well.
     
  3. chbass

    chbass Registered User

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    well it did stay 4v4, but the original call was the one that went away, not the delayed penalty, which to me seems wierd, and i cant find that specific situation explained in the rules.
     
  4. BusQuets

    BusQuets Registered User

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    576
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Of course the old penalty will not stay
     
  5. chbass

    chbass Registered User

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    I just wasnt sure, since a goal scored 4v4 does not take away penaltys. But hey, if youre sure then thats cleared up and im happy, thx:)
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
monitoring_string = "358c248ada348a047a4b9bb27a146148"