History of Russian (USSR) Hockey

ESunlin

Jul 13, 2008
Kalamazoo, Michigan
(I am cross posting this from the Russian forum- someone suggested it may get more exposure.)

Hello,

I am a student at Western Michigan University. I am currently doing a project on the history of Russian (and USSR) hockey and how it has affected the NHL and wondered if there was anyone available to give personal input.

As you can imagine, getting information on the history of hockey in the USSR is quite difficult and I believe it is not a complete story without talking about the methodology and structure of their championship hockey teams, and later, the defection of players to the NHL and the resurgence of the KHL.

Any information would be greatly appreciated. I am available by PM.

Thank you,
Erin

kaiser matias

Mar 22, 2004
A book that details the first wave of Russians in the NHL is "Red Line" by Stan Fischler. It was written in 1990 and talks about everything that happened leading up allowing Russians in, to what happened with them through the season. It also devotes a part of the book to a brief summary of the formation of hocky in the Soviet Union. If you can find a copy, it would probably help.

Canadiens Fan

Oct 3, 2008
Try and find a copy of Lawrence Martin's The Red Machine which is the definitive book on the history of Soviet hockey up until 1990. What makes the book special is that the story is mostly told through Russian eyes. It's currently out of print but sometimes pops up on used book sites. Your work would be incomplete without it.

SuicideKings15

Nov 3, 2009
London, ON
I took a class on this in College, have read every book I can find, and probably spend a bit too much time learning about the old Soviet system. I can answer any questions, but to out-line it all would take far too long.