Advice: Getting into Hockey as an Adult

heavymetalthunder

Apr 9, 2019
Denver, CO
Hey guys, so my cousin from Sweden just moved to the states and has convinced me to start playing hockey with him! I always wanted to play as a kid, but the gear and ice time was too expensive so I've mostly just been a fan. I'm 26 now (he's been playing pretty much his whole life), and I'm basically a complete beginner outside of a little bit of roller hockey as a kid.

I finally bit the bullet and ordered some skates, but my skating is pretty atrocious. I can move around, but I'm definitely not ready for any drop-in games without embarrassing myself (and probably pissing some people off). Once I get my skates in the mail, my cousin is gonna take me to a stick and puck at a rink nearby and shoot some pucks around and show me the ropes. He's got all the extra gear for me to use aside from skates.

I'm excited to play, just a little bit nervous about my skating skill level. Any others out there start playing/skating as an adult? How good should my skating be before I start playing with others? Any other do's/dont's at the rink I should know about? Any advice would be much appreciated!

Filthy Dangles

Registered User*
Oct 23, 2014
I would say you might want to have this checklist of skating skill before trying to drop in on Open Hockey.

-Can forward stride comfortably without losing balance or falling down
-Can turn (not on a dime) but well enough that you're not making a tractor trailer wide turn and struggling to keep balance and crashing into the boards. You need to be able to change direction efficiently.
-Hockey stop with at least the lead foot. Again not on a dime and not where you have to spray snow in someones face but where you can comfortably stop and slow down without crashing into the boards or other players
-I'd also say maybe a foundation of basic backwards skating (where you can pivot from front to back and glide going backwards without falling down) and vice versa.