Do you ***** and Moan when you get called for a Penalty?

FLYLine27*

BUCH
Nov 9, 2004
NY
Me...I usually do..which is so sad because I am a referee...I guess I just get so caught up in the game that I complain....I always regret it because I know the ref isnt out to hurt either side and is there to just call it like he sees it...ahh

I take about a minor a game BTW..usually a lazy hooking, tripping, crosschecking or roughing (the last 2 I don't complain about)...I play in a very competitive adult league so there is usually a fair amount of penalties.

bfire

May 30, 2006
Toronto
www.hockeynut.com
If it's a really bad call, I usually let him have it. Other then that I just accept it and go to the box. So far I only have 1 penalty in 20 games tho. Interference.

Happy Pony

Jan 17, 2006
Columbus
I used to when I was younger and play travel and high school. Not so much now that I've moved to the beer leagues.

vexXed

Oct 23, 2005
Hong Kong
It's more of a suprise to me when I get a penalty. 4 years worth of uni plus rec league games, and all the freindlies I've had, see my totals at 4 PIM. Slashing and hooking. When I got them I was like *Look around and point to self* "Me? Ok."

If I got a penalty that obviously wasn't my fault, then I suppose I would complain a little bit, but in the end that never does anything anyway.

BCCHL inactive

Most of the time I argue against stupid calls. Last game I got a penalty on a hook that was clearly a dive and the ref told me that there was no call for diving in USA hockey.

He is right.

Same with Hockey Canada. There is no actual rule against diving. However, Hockey Canada started this season allowing us to use Unsportsmanlike Conduct minors if we are absolutely 100% sure a foul was embelished.

stick9

Aug 12, 2004
I keep my mouth shut and go right to the box. If it's a marginal call I may ask the ref about it later on. At that point he's usually happy to explain it to me.